Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which one

• Base Touch Bar

Votes: 2 6.7%
  • Touch Bar + 16GB RAM

Votes: 16 53.3%
  • Base no Touch Bar

Votes: 2 6.7%
  • no Touch Bar + 16GB RAM

Votes: 10 33.3%

• Total voters

Hexiii

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 30, 2011
Prague, Czech Republic
Hi, I know that his has been posted quite a few times already but I'd still rather have opinions on this specific case.

I am looking to buy a MacBook, since I am leaving for 4 months and won't be taking my main PC with me. I can't make up my mind however which would be the better option. I am a mechanical engineering student and I also do graphic design (mostly UI). Right now I own a Windows desktop and 11" MBA 2011. I use the MBA for Sketch and it works borderline fine, but its getting slower and hotter for other regular tasks; the battery isn't great anymore either - about 2 hours regular usage. I use my main PC for other tasks like CAD, Photoshop, After Effects, 3DS max, etc. (I would be running Windows with Bootcamp for CAD). I don't really play games.

I was originally going to opt for the base 13" TB version, because of the better CPU, but I am worried whether 8GB RAM will suffice and whether I should rather go with nTB with 16GB RAM roughly at the same price. I don't really care for the touch bar and I might even rather have one without, but I don't mind it either. The two fewer ports I could probably live with, so the CPU is the main deal breaker (not sure how much better the GPU is, but I would use it for more CPU intensive tasks anyway). To be honest I haven't found any real world comparison between these two, just benchmarks, so I don't know what difference I am looking at, but I suppose it could be helpful in most of the tasks. I don't really care about longer waiting times (when rendering images or video), but rather about the general smoothness when working in 3D etc.