TB3 eGPU case suggestion?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by plexdk, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. plexdk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm thinking about getting the new MacBook Pro 2016 15", so I can connect an external Gpu.
    (As far as I know, the 13" is not optimal for such a setup)

    My question is, which casing should I get, if I want to use a nVidia 1080 Ti ?
    I'm located in Denmark, so delivery to EU is a must.

    Thx.
     
  2. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, Apr 16, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #2
    Mantiz looks the best choice at the moment because you also get additional USB ports and a drive bay. This turns your laptop into a desktop computer. But they are not available yet. Forum members are able to pre-order at egpu.io

    https://egpu.io/

    https://mymantiz.com/

    Just don't expect Windows level performance. Nvidia Mac drivers are weak and buggy in comparison. AMD drivers are slow in comparison too. There's no evidence that the latest GPU boosting or overclocking exists in Mac drivers too.
     
  3. jlc1978, Apr 16, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017

    jlc1978 macrumors 68000

    jlc1978

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #3
    Unfortunately it appears only to work with USB-C/TB3; thus leaving out a large set of Mac users.
     
  4. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #4
    The additional I/Os in the Mantiz eGPU enclosure work with older Thunderbolt Macs in macOS. I tested it with a 2015 MacBook Air using the Apple Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) to Thunderbolt adapter. SATA and USB 3.0 ports work with native drivers. Ethernet port requires a third party driver from the manufacturer.
     
  5. KimHansenDK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #5
    Why is the 13-inch not optimal for such a setup?
     
  6. bartvk macrumors 6502

    bartvk

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Awesome that you guys join in on the forums here!

    I checked the website and see that there's more stuff coming soon. Specifically the MD-01 and MD-02, how soon is "coming soon"? Could you say "this year" or could you be more specific than that?
     
  7. jlc1978, Apr 16, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017

    jlc1978 macrumors 68000

    jlc1978

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #7
    So would it work with the TB port on a 2015 MBP, including the external graphics card?

    Are preorders still available at ogpu.io?
     
  8. bartvk macrumors 6502

    bartvk

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Amazing stuff, very good news. I've sent you a PM on this site, I'd appreciate it if you have a look.
     
  9. plexdk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #9
  10. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #10
    It works with a 2015 MBP through Apple TB3 - TB adapter. The group buy ended on April 15th.
     
  11. jlc1978 macrumors 68000

    jlc1978

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #11
    Thanks.
     
  12. tongefactor40 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #12
    Currently using a razer core with my MacBook Pro 15". Gtx 970 card. Pretty darn cool and I like the overall size of the core.
     
  13. richinaus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    #13
    Can I ask how much of a difference in performance is this giving to you? Does it work in bootcamp and MacOS?
    thanks.
     
  14. PhoneI macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #14
    Are you using this just with Windows in bootcamp or also for OSX? If so, any issues with the Nvidia drivers (I heard they are buggy)?
     
  15. tongefactor40 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #15
    Huge impact. Generally play AAA game titles at 50fps on high-max settings, 1080p

    Yes on macOS, but I mostly use it on bootcamp
     
  16. richinaus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    #16
    Brilliant. Convinces me.

    Is it set up with one TB3 to the EGPU and then connect another port to your monitor, or do you output to your monitor through the EGPU?
     
  17. tongefactor40 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #17
    I output from egpu to monitor
     
  18. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #18
    If you are talking fully functionality then that would be stating the obvious because you'd need TB3 for that. However, TB3 is backward compatible with TB2 and even TB1 (you do need an adapter such as the TB3-TB2 adapter from Apple) so most of the functionality will still work with the older Thunderbolt Macs. Bandwidth is a lot less (20Gbps for TB2 and 10Gbps for TB1) but is going to be an issue with TB3 too if you are using it with a cheap TB3 cable because the cheaper TB3 cables are limited to 20Gbps.

    eGPU on older Macs have been an issue even with the older TB1 and TB2 enclosures because TB1 and TB2 do not support it and neither does MacOS X and macOS (there is a script that will enable the use of it but it is still limited compared to what you can do in Windows). TB3 is a different story as well as Windows. Ideally you'd want a Windows computer with TB3. Let's hope Apple changes this with the next version of macOS.
     
  19. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #19
    I am able to have the usb ports show up on my 2015 mbp with TB 2 but not on mt 2012 mbp with TB 1. I am hoping to use my 2012 machine with this predominantly. Anyway to get the usb ports to show on on a TB 1 machine?
     
  20. p910115 macrumors member

    p910115

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    #20
    May I ask if under macOS and the egpu not working yet
    will the monitor connect to eGPU still work with the built in dGPU or iGPU (like as pass through)??

    I've got late 2016 15" macbook pro as well
    my monitor on the way
    and planing to get a Nvidia eGPU in the future
    (now staying at 10.12.6 , 10.13 not support yet)
     

Share This Page