Tc + atv2

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Rocco83, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. Rocco83 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I'll preface this by saying I am completely new to the Mac scene. I have always wanted to get involved deeper than my wide array of iPods and multiple iPads, but have not had the funds to do so.

    I am about to purchase a new MBP and figure if I am going to drop that kind of money I might as well Apple out completely. I also want to go with a 2TB TC and a couple ATV2. Reading up on the products it seems most people use the TC simply for backup purposes rather than a file server. My question is whether or not it is feasible to use the TC as a file server to house movies to stream to the ATV2.

    I have roughly 600 movies on DVD I would like to rip and put on the TC to use with the ATV2, but most of what I have read people frown on using the TC as a primary file server.

    Something else I need to find out is whether or not there are apps I can use with the ATV2 if jailbroken to be able to stream videos straight from the TC. Do I need to have another computer always running in order to be able to stream the videos? If so would it be more cost effective to get a good router and simply throw a 2-3TB HDD in a Mac Mini to leave on all the time and stream the movies straight from that to the ATV2?
     
  2. DrEnalg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #2
    With a JB ATV2 + XBMC and a TC you should be able to stream videos directly from your TC without your computer being on, yes (at least, I've heard of it being done). I have a similar setup, although not with a TC (simply a Belkin router with a couple of hard drives networked to it).

    Make sure you consult here frequently about the JB process, lots of collective experience here.
     
  3. Rocco83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    Thank you. I know I am getting the ATV2s. My main concern is whether or not to go with the TC, or to get a third party router and a few networked hard drives. I have been using Belkin routers and bridges on the network I have at home now and haven't had any problems with their hardware for the last decade.
     
  4. DrEnalg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #4
    Yeah, again, I see no reason why you shouldn't be able to use a TC for this.... sorry I can't say for sure though. I had wished I could afford one - the primary reason I went with the Belkin was cost, and the fact I already had about 1.5 TB of external hard drive capacity lying around.... in the end, I'm pretty pleased, although I will confess the system isn't 100% reliable (but what is?).
     
  5. posnera macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #5
    The problem (that I see) with the TC is that it costs more than the individual parts (router + HDD) and when the HDD dies you are out of luck.

    If you have that Mac mini already (or any other working computer), you can just use external hard drives directly connected for both time machine from the new laptop and for the itunes storage. Just leave itunes running on the mini and it will act as the server for the ATVs.

    If you're starting new with a huge ripping project, you may as well rip to an itunes/ATV compatible format and skip the jailbreak completely.
     
  6. Rocco83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    What software would you recommend for that? Hopefully something good and free, but I don't mind paying for something if it is going to do the job great.

    Another question I guess I have is with the external HDDs. Are they made to be plugged in all the time and be fine, or does that cut down on the life span significantly?

    Thanks.
     
  7. posnera macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #7
    Handbrake. Free and does the job 95% of the time. There are plenty of threads here about DVD ripping.

    As far as I know, HDD life shouldn't be affected by remaining plugged in. The number of read/write cycles would be the major issue and the drives shouldn't be active unless they are in use.
     
  8. Brian33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    USA (Virginia)
    #8
    With respect to the HDD dying, I don't think this is accurate. It's really pretty easy to replace the hard drive in a TC -- I've done it myself and I'm no expert. (Replaced the original 500GB drive with a 2TB drive.) The only "hard" part is getting the rubber pad off the bottom, but a hair dryer and steady pulling remove it handily so that it can be replaced and you'd never know the difference.
     
  9. Rocco83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    That is reassuring as every review I have read from people say that once the hard drive fails you are SOL. I will most likely have multiple backup sources as I don't want to have 600+ of my DVDs on one drive, get rid of all my DVDs, and then have the drive fail and be out all of those DVDs.

    Thanks posnera on the Handbrake suggestion. From all of the ripping threads I have read that by far seems to be the best way to go about it. I guess I will hold off on my ripping until I purchase my MBP.

    Now I guess I just need to decide on whether or not the TC will be my best bet as I will most likely also purchase a few other backup external HDDs to house all my movies. I guess I need to do a little research on signal strength as my Man Cave is in the back of my garage in a separate building as the house 75 yards away. Right now I'm using an old Belkin g wireless router to bounce signal to a wireless bridge in my garage and then hardlining a cable into the cave. I would love to find something with the strength to shoot the signal all the way out here and move the bridge in here. Alas, there is probably a separate forum for that problem.
     
  10. posnera macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    #10

    If you have cable (coax) running to the cave, these work quite well:

    http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-MCAB1...5NMI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1310254755&sr=8-1
     
  11. Rocco83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11

Share This Page