TD Bank and Apple Pay?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by aawil, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. aawil macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone got this to work? I didn't for me when I tried it. I called them on launch day but they really didn't know anything. I was supposed to get a call back but haven't as of yet.
     
  2. kurzz macrumors 6502

    kurzz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Apple Pay isn't available in Canada yet. It's coming later this year.
     
  3. aawil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #3
    TD Bank is in the US as well.
     
  4. kurzz macrumors 6502

    kurzz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Oh, I didn't know that.
     
  5. vikingjunior macrumors 65816

    vikingjunior

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #5
    I hope this isn't a issue as its 50% of the reason for me buying the watch, keep us updated.
     
  6. aawil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #6
    I think it's an issue on TD's side. They didn't sound very well prepared for it.
     
  7. brianus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #7
    Thank you for posting, aawil - you're not alone; my wife and I are having no luck adding our TD cards to Apple Pay (and yes, we're in the U.S.). Neither TD nor Apple seems to know what's going on based on support calls with both. I have yet to hear from anyone with a TD account getting this to work on the watch, so we'll see..
     
  8. Gravemold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    #8
    I called on Friday. They said I was the first to call in and added it'll be working sometime this week and there wasn't anything wrong with my card, they needed work on their end.
     
  9. vikingjunior macrumors 65816

    vikingjunior

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #9
    Well got my watch today and the only thing not working is my TD Bank account and Apple pay. Hope they get it fixed or I guess I'll be moving banks.
     
  10. brianus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #10
    Good to know. They tried to tell me it was my card (actually, I called three times and they had a different reason/solution every time), but Apple doesn't think it's the card and the fact that my wife's card already works on her phone clinches it. They messed something up, somewhere. Hope it's true about it working this week!
     
  11. vikingjunior macrumors 65816

    vikingjunior

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    #11
    We need to stay on top of this by calling early and often.
     
  12. sbbrown333 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate SC
    #12
    Same issue here. I was able to add my Chase and MasterCard credit cards, but not my US TD Bank debit card. They seem to always be slow when it comes to Apple Pay. Other than this issue I'm loving the watch.
     
  13. aawil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #13
    I just tried mine again today and it worked! I guess they figured it out. I never did get the call back. Give it another try, should work now.
     
  14. brianus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #14
    Thanks, I just tried it and it let me add the card, finally. Did you have to do anything after it says "Activating...", like call them to confirm?
     
  15. F-Train macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #15
    I'm in New York but using a TD Bank (Canada) Visa card. Does anyone know if I'll be able to use that card with Apple Pay in the U.S.? Or do I need to use a TD Bank (US) Visa card?

    On an Apple list I saw, they refer to TD Bank North America.

    I should have my watch by Wednesday so I can try it then, but would appreciate knowing if anyone has made the attempt.
     
  16. Salinger macrumors member

    Salinger

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #16
    No, it has to be a TD Bank US card. Your card is issued by TD Canada Trust. If you try to add it, it won't allow you. You can try adding it on your phone, it'd be the same thing. When you take a pic of the card to add it, it tells you it's not a valid card to add.
     
  17. F-Train macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #17
    I'll try it anyway, but suspected that. I have a Chase business card, so I guess I'll use that.

    Now, if status would just change from Preparing for Shipment to Shipped...
     
  18. aawil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #18
    I didn't have to do anything extra. It took a minute or two to actually activate and that was that. That being said I do have my cell number on file as well
     
  19. brianus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    #19
    It's been an hour for me and it still just says "Activating." TD customer service says it's activated, phone and watch say no, even when I remove and then add it again. Honestly at this point I don't think I want to trust this buggy ass system with my money.
     
  20. aawil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #20
    I think the hard part seems to be the initial setup. I don't think they were prepared for the watch launch either.
     
  21. aawil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #21
    I think apple really have something here, just gave it a try and it's much faster than using the phone.
     

Share This Page