Teacher looking for grading software

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by shan21non, Mar 8, 2009.

1. shan21non macrumors newbie

I'm a high school teacher looking for a free mac software program for grades. My school uses Grade Machine, which I don't particularly like (and isn't compatible with my mac). I calculate my grades based on percentages instead of total points (i.e. their average homework grade is 15% of their total grade)

Can anyone recommend something free and offer a download link?

Thanks,
    Shannon

ETA: While I prefer a free program, I'd be willing to pay up to $40 for a good program.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Will an Excel-type program do the job? It takes a little more work to set up the template spreadsheet, but once you get going all you'll have to do is enter in a number and the formulas will do the rest.

3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Numbers in iWork has a nice grading template that you could try.

Download the iWork trial to see if it would be what you need, and then buy the suite if it works well for you.

4. shan21non thread starter macrumors newbie

I've tried excel, but I've always had trouble figuring out the necessary formulas. I need a program that will do it automatically for me. (can you guess I'm not a math or science teacher?)

5. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Humm, well I'm sure that you can find some pages dealing with a system similar to yours if you googled "How to weight grades in excel" (it's not that hard in the first place).

I tried searching and none of the programs I found were free :-( One that looked intriguing was this:

http://www.gradebusters.com/

There is a demo available, perhaps you could download it and try it out.

6. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe