Teen wants to start filming?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by ComicStix, Feb 28, 2010.

1. ComicStix macrumors member

Hey guys! Well as it says I am a freshman looking to start filming. I always dreamed of making videos and becoming an editor/director and become part of the youtube top dogs, but I just don't know how to get there. I have a tripod, JVC GRDA30U camcorder, and Final Cut Express. I do some things on the side like filming random things like me skateboarding but I want to start to do shorts. How would I get my friends to help? It would be kind of weird to just ask them, "Hey do you wanna do a movie?" And my parents are kind of iffy on the idea of a youtube channel. I really like writing scripts and planning things out but would that seem weird to make a script to a short movie? Thanks for reading this guys!

-ComicStix

2. alansmallen macrumors 6502a

The best thing you could do is to start writing a short that is within your means, both technically and cast wise. Make sure that you can do it. It'll be good for practice. Pass the script on to your friends and ask them if they can help you out and buy them pizza in return. That's what I did for a while and it worked out great.

3. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

techfreak85

Does your HS have a video production class? That was helpful for me.
    Once you get the basics down (weather through class or just messing around), just do it. The more you just make movies, the better you will get.

4. ComicStix thread starter macrumors member

They do but I already filled out my program of studies for next year and didn't put it on because of recommendations from friends that the class wasn't very good. Maybe I will try to get into it next year.

5. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

MWPULSE