Telekinesis

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by daibach, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. daibach macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I just stumbled on this great application!

    It lets you remotely access your Mac from your iPod Touch!

    Now you don't need to worry about only having 16GB of storage. As long as you've got a wi-fi connection you can access your Mac through Safari on your Touch and play all the media stored on your Mac!

    http://code.google.com/p/telekinesis/

    I've just installed it and it works brilliantly!

    I now have access to 1TB of videos right on my iPod!

    Sorry about all the exclamation marks! This is just so good!

    :eek:
     
  2. wizzracer macrumors 6502

    wizzracer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #2
    Umm, Thats been around for years. You just never knew how to set it up yourself.
     
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  4. daibach thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #4
    dukebound, it can't see aliases (like I have in my Movies folder), but you just navigate to the root of your Mac and the external drives are listed there.
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    cool thanks. now i cant get my touch to load the web address

    how did you do it?
     
  6. daibach thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Open Port 5010 in your Firewall. I also use an application called Lighthouse that does the port forwarding for 5010 and 5012. To stream videos you have to enable 'Share media insecurely' in the iPhone Remote preferences.

    In Safari on your Touch, enter https://your.ip.add.ress:5010

    You can find your Mac's IP address by going to www.ipchicken.com on your Mac.
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7

    lol at the risk of sounding ignorant, how do you open ports
     
  8. daibach thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #8
    In System Preferences, choose Sharing then Firewall. Click New. Select Other and enter 5010 for the TCP and UDP numbers. Give it a description and Save.

    If that doesn't work, you'll also need enable port forwarding for ports 5010 and 5012. I use Lighthouse to do that. You can get a free 14 day trial.

    http://www.codelaide.com/blog/products/lighthouse
     
  9. bwinterton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
  10. sanford macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, USA
    #10
    Telekinesis rocks hard, and I'm far too old to use that phrase about anything. And it does it all without hacking native apps onto the touch or iPhone (I use it with my iPhone) and is therefore fully compliant. And it plays FairPlay DRM iTunes purchases if the touch or iPhone is tied to the Mac it's running on. And it does other things. And it's extensible for new features, with an open development architecture for new apps.

    Keep spreading the word. These guys need to get this to the point they can sell it for a reasonable price and be able to support it with more stable revisions and feature enhancements.
     
  11. sanford macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, USA
    #11

    Yeah. Google around. Can't recall the name. It only streams, I think, no other features, but it's there.
     
  12. bwinterton macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
  13. sanford macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, USA
    #13
    hold...

    UDPATE: It's called ORB. Jeez that took a while; I read it on another forum on another site.
     
  14. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #14
    i can not get safari to load the page. says it can not connect to server. would having a wireless router be doing this to me?

    thanks
     
  15. daibach thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Have you followed my instructions in posts #6 and #8?

    I have an Airport Express. Opening port 5010 in the Firewall settings and using Lighthouse to port forward 5010 and 5012 works.
     
  16. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  17. daibach thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Okay. Fire up Lighthouse. It will put an icon on your taskbar (top right).

    Click the icon and select "Edit Port Mapping Preferences"

    Click the + button below the top list to add a new profile.

    Double click the text "Empty Profile" that will appear in the top window and rename it - say "Touch". Give it a description if you want.

    While that row is highlighted in the top list, click the + button below the bottom list to add a port. Double click the Private Port and change the value from 1 to 5010. Do the same for Private Port. Change the Type from TCP to Both. Click the + button again and repeat for port 5012.

    Click Save & Close.

    Now click the icon again and look at Start and Stop Profiles. You need to make sure that your new profile "Touch" is running.

    Hope that helps!
     
  18. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #18
    My options for start and stopping a profile are greyed out. Ideas?
     
  19. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #19
    me too
     
  20. sdmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #20
    Just got this email from lighthouse support

    If the profile menu is greyed out, it means that your router is
    currently not ready to accept port forwarding requests. Usually, this
    is the case during the router association process. If this state
    keeps lingering, there are only 2 possibilities: 1) your router might
    not be supported. If this is the case, the Lighthouse icon will turn
    red after a while (Lighthouse retries to associate with your router
    multiple times, waiting different amounts of time for a reply for the
    router. That's why it takes a while until an error can be reported).
    If the icon never turns red, then 2) your router might have gotten
    stuck. Sometimes, the service Lighthouse is using simply stalls on
    the router because of a bug in the firmware. In these cases, usually
    just rebooting the router fixes the issue.

    I hope this helps!
     
  21. haiggy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #22
    Wow nice, I'm gonna try it out. I think the fact that Telekinesis is free and can easily be modded/have apps added by anyone to it is a plus though.


    Edit: I just gave it a tour and I dunno, I think they're kinda both equal. Remote Buddy VNC is a lot better, if I could get it to WORK. I can't move the mouse by clicking on the "Touchpad" screen. It works when I do it on my browser on my computer but on my iPod it doesn't move. Any ideas?

    However, Telekinesis is a lot better for iTunes support and simplistic remote. It is a lot faster and you can actually stream music + video. You can't do this with Remote Buddy.
     
  22. Shanesan macrumors 6502

    Shanesan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #23
    Sweet app. I like taking pictures of myself with it! Thanks.
     
  23. phantomsd macrumors 6502

    phantomsd

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #24
    ok so telekinesis worked fine last night but now it wont load at all on my iphone safari. it loads up fine on my macbook when i choose "view webpage" from iphone remote. my iphone will not bring up the app. i dont get a "cannot connect to server" message... it just keeps trying to load the page.

    any suggestions?
     
  24. ellsworth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #25
    i guess I'll be the one to ask... how do you get this program on your iphone/touch?
     

Share This Page