Resolved Teleport help needed

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Pwdr, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. Pwdr, Aug 4, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2013

    Pwdr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    I have just downloaded Teleport for my Macs. I put this in the PPC forum because I'm running a PPC Mac and Intel, so figured you fellas may be able to help.

    I have 1.1.2 for my iMac on ML and 1.0.1 on my iBook G3 on Tiger (10.4.11).

    iMac's going to be the controller.

    I have set the TCP Port Numbers to "44176-44177" as advised in the ReadMe.

    Just to state the obvious: selected "Activate teleport" and "Share this Mac" on each machine.

    I have them connected by Ethernet and confirmed this is working by accessing Finder>Shared>iBook and "Connect as..." then logging in and transferring files to the Desktop of the iBook.

    Neither Teleport is seeing the other Mac, always saying (in grey) "No shared Mac found on local network. Please check "Share this Mac" on the Macs you want to control".

    I've checked everything I can think of and, typically, the Teleport forum is down.

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. eyoungren, Aug 5, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    What about running 1.0.1 on the iMac?

    I don't use this app but keeping both Macs on the same version might lead to better coexistence. 1.1.2 may be using newer protocols that 1.0.1 doesn't recognize.
     
  3. cocacolakid, Aug 5, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013

    cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    Good point by eyoungren.

    But just to make sure, you say you've checked everything you can think of but did you go into Sharing under System Preferences and ALSO check on File Sharing for each Mac and set which folders to share? Just double checking the obvious.
     
  4. Pwdr thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    #4
    Thanks eyoungren, this did it. I didn't try 'downgrading' because the website says that 1.1.2 only works on ML (I thought maybe it meant that only 1.1.2 works with ML).

    Thanks!
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Awesome, that's great to hear! You are very welcome!
     

Share This Page