Teleport VNC Client Allows Remote Access to Your Computer

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by plumbingandtech, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. plumbingandtech macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #1
  2. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    I'm tempted to get it. I haven't gotten the regular teleport because I don't know how well it will work, but if the 99 cent version works, then that would be a good indicator for the $24.99 one working too.
     
  3. plumbingandtech thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    Good point. I am going to wait till the end of the day (or morning) and pick it up. Just wanted a couple of reviews first.:eek:
     
  4. CommanderData macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #4
    Read the reviews of Teleport (Full/Pro, whatever we should call it now), and they will be the same for the Lite version. All he's done is removed keyboard access and reduced the price to make a nice trial version. I'm sure anyone who tries the Lite version will be sold on the full price version.

    I have a review on iTunes for the full version, plus posts in every Teleport/VNC thread here if you need to be further convinced of it's greatness :D
     
  5. plumbingandtech thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #5
    Done. I'm convinced.

    In the near term all I want is mouse access. So this will be a good "gateway drug" :D


    CommanderData:: i have two 24inch screens which equals 3840pixels but their site says:

    Teleport Lite supports high resolution displays (e.g. 3200x1200)

    Anyone have dual 24" and does teleport drive them completely?

    mochaVNC did not. To say the least.
     
  6. Pooshka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #6
    Just bought it. Tried it. Loved it except for one fact: with the lite version, one can do absolutely nothing but navigate one's screen. I have to admit, the refresh frame rate is awesome for such a small device as iPhone. Mocha VNC is rubbish compared to Teleport. Conclusion: Teleport is worth $25. I am buying it.
     
  7. Ashyukun macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #7
    I may have to give it a try. Honestly, I've been less frustrated with Mocha VNC Lite than most people have and have not had any real inclination to pay the $25 for the much more talked-up Teleport, but a $1 trial version is more my speed to see what I think of it. And honestly, I rarely need the keyboard for what I use the VNC for anyway.
     
  8. CommanderData macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #8
    I have only done a single 24" screen at a time. I don't think he's suggesting the limit is 3200x1200 though, my guess is he was testing with dual 1600x1200 monitors to prove you could hit high resolutions. I've done 1920x1200 so far without issue, which as you know Mocha cannot handle.

    Hope that helps.
     
  9. plumbingandtech thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #9
    And mouse clicks right?


    Edit: Thanks CommanderData!
     
  10. Pooshka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #10
    Nope, not even that.
     
  11. Ashyukun macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #11
    o_O OK, if you can't even do mouse clicks with it, then it's not very useful to even try out. If they were going to put out a lite version that stripped down, it should have been free...
     
  12. heyp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #12
    what's the difference between this and mocha vnc? and can you control your computer from outside of your own wifi network or over 3G?
     
  13. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #13
    Yeah I am waiting to get this when they come out with the free program that helps you do VNC outside of your own network so you don't have to do it manually all the time ^_^ . . . I am lazy . . . but then again if I did get it now I can watch TV and play on my computer at the same time when there's something good on . . .
     
  14. plumbingandtech thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #14
    You think you're lazy? The main reason why I am buying this is so I can sleep my computer when I forget to from the other room, 20 feet away.

    NOW THAT'S LAZY!:D

    Edit: that and to check in on my legendary multi hour iphone backups.

    Is it done yet?
    Is it done yet?
     
  15. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #15
    Wait! how will you check on your iPhone backups from your iPhone when you're in another room!? That's madness right there . . . unless ya got a iPod Touch. . .
     
  16. plumbingandtech thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #16
    I still have my 2.5 iphone with no service, but still does wifi well.
     
  17. albeik macrumors regular

    albeik

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    #17
    I just downloaded Teleport (not the lite version) - and so far it is excellent. Little pricey, but does the job very well.
     
  18. stiphone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #18
    So does the Lite Version enable you to navigate with your mouse and have mouse click capabilities?
     
  19. plumbingandtech thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #19
    Argg. I bought it. Yep no mouse clicks. Does display both my monitors though.

    I suggest not buying it and use mocha if it is a hobby thing or buying the full teleport if you have a serious need for this.
     
  20. stiphone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #20
    Wow..Thanks for the super fast reply. Sucks then if it does not even support mouse clicks. what are you going to do with the lite version then? It's pretty useless. It should be a free app then for people to see if they wanna buy the full version. Thanks though for the update.
     
  21. rockstarjoe macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #21
    I used Mocha VNC (full version) for a while, and while it worked fine I decided to follow everyone's advice and try Teleport (full version). Teleport is very well made and frankly it blows Mocha VNC out of the water. Also the refresh rate is much higher than Mocha VNC, even over cellular network.

    My only complaint with Teleport is that it is so processor intensive that it sometimes requires you to force quit Mail and Safari before it will even run. I hope the developers can find a way around this issue.
     
  22. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #22
    ooo touche!! . . . now you need to figure out a way to VNC your iPhone 3G with your iPhone EDGE :D
     
  23. plumbingandtech thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #23
    I'll keep it, since for a buck its worth it just to see both my monitors for other things , which mocha does not.

    As for sleeping, I think i will write an applescript to sleep my app and put the icon somewhere mocha can see it (my left screen).

    I might still buy teleport, but I so seldom use it, I would rather buy $25 worth of other apps.
     
  24. Scooterman1 macrumors 6502a

    Scooterman1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #24
    Stinks

    I thought the $24.99 version was way too high for an App that wouldn't be used but very infrequently by most.
    I have been using VNC Lite, for FREE
    Well, I purchased the $.99 Teleport Lite, and the only words that I can think of is RIP-OFF compared to Mocha VNC Lite.
    The ONLY thing the mouse does is allow you to move the screen around on your iPhone. You can't use any mouse clicks, switch Application windows on your computer, or open new ones. You DO need to be able to maneuver the screen with the mouse because you can Zoom to enlarge your screen, but you can't get the screen zoom in to get it to fit the iPhone screen. So, you need the mouse to be able to move around the screen to look at it.
    Absolutely USELESS. But I was the DUMB one because I gave them $.99 for something that does nothing. At least with the FREE Mocha VNC Lite, you can actually do a lot.

    But, I guess is someone can sell a useless App for $999, then this company can sell one for $.99

    I'm not going to spend the $24.99 after they ripped me off of $.99.

    Anyway, I was told by the coder, that after Apple gets the updated version of Mocha VNC in the Store, he is going to start adding features. And, he said he's keeping the low price.

    Too bad Teleport coders aren't observing.
     
  25. stiphone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #25
    I'll probably purchase the Full teleport app. I need something to navigate on my computer cause i have a G4 Cube hooked up to my LCD HDTV as my media center. I use it to watch movies and do some lite surfing when I'm on the couch.

    I used to use Tocuhpad Pro which served my purpose very well. Can't seem to find it after the 2.0 update and guess that teleport is the only application i can use right now. If anyone knows where i can get Touchpad Pro, please let me know as i loved that application. I've installed installer and cydia but can't seem to find it right now.
     

Share This Page