Tell a Mac to use a proxy server system-wide (browser, services, AIM, etc)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ahrenba, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. ahrenba macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I've setup a little VPN using Hamachi and a proxy server on my home computer. I'll be taking my Mac out on the road with me and connecting to that VPN to secure the traffic.

    I know that I can just configure proxy settings on an application-by-application basis, but is there a way to tell the entire Mac to use this proxy server for ALL programs?

    I found something that may be promising in system prefs -> network -> proxies

    Is this right?
     
  2. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Making the changes exactly where you said should do it. Likely you'll only need to modify settings for the http and https proxies, which will cover your web browsing activities. I'm not sure about changes needed for iChat or other services.

    For extra security, you could do it there and in the apps themselves.
     
  3. ahrenba thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #3
    Awesome, I'll give it a try and do some testing tonight. Thanks for the help. :)
     
  4. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Yep, thats right. This will change the settings for all internet connections.
     
  5. ahrenba thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #5
    Alright, awesome!

    One other question. Does anyone have any experience with Privoxy?

    From my understanding, it can only proxy HTTP and HTTPS. Is this true? What about other protocols like FTP, or the ones being used for Instant Messaging clients? What would happen if I try to route those through Privoxy?
     
  6. ahrenba thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #6
    Alright, I am on the road and my VPN/proxy is working great. I have the proxy setup in my browser only.

    However, when I try to enable system-wide proxy (in prefs -> network -> advanced -> proxies), other apps can't even connect to the net, yet the browser (still configured separately, although with the same settings) works.

    Any ideas?

    Do any of you have system wide proxies?
     

Share This Page