Telling people how stupid you are

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Doctor Q, Feb 10, 2009.

1. Doctor Q Administrator

Doctor Q

Staff Member

I'm a programmer. When I make a foolish mistake coding a program, I find it amusing, and I often tell my coworkers about it. Stupid mistakes are funny in hindsight, even if I spent way too long figuring out what I did wrong.

If I do something dopey at home, usually as a result of being distracted or absent-minded, I tell my wife what a dumb thing I just did and we both laugh about it. I've pointed out some of my silly mistakes in these forums too.

I don't think I'm unusual, since other people do this too, and I don't think I'm particularly stupid in general. But why do we admit our most ridiculous errors? Shouldn't it be human nature to keep mum and hope nobody finds out you did something so dumb? I'd probably be insulted if somebody else pointed out my most foolish mistakes and called me stupid (which isn't allowed in the forums anyway), but I'm amused by making fun of myself for these things.

Do you do the same thing?

2. yellow Moderator emeritus

yellow

I take responsibility for my mistakes, though I won't tell people that don't need to know.
    But quite often at work I see people trying to cover it up or dump the blame on someone else. Very often in fact. Apparently I work with a lot of fools.

3. Baron58 macrumors 6502

That's what http://www.thedailywtf.com is for.

4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

Absolutely. What's the point of making an error if you haven't someone to laugh with afterwards?

5. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

Well I hope nothing from you guys get to the failblog... =p

6. skunk macrumors G4

skunk

7. toolbox macrumors 68020

toolbox

Yep any mistake i make i will admit to it, i even say the stupid ones too - We all have a lol about it

8. szark macrumors 68030

szark