Telus iPhone Users (or other Canadians)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by VanMac, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. VanMac macrumors 6502a

    VanMac

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Rampaging Tokyo
    #1
    Hey All.

    Looking to pickup a 3GS :D

    My contract is up with Telus, so I can go wherever I want, but I would likely prefer to stay with them. I live in Southern Ontario.

    Anywho, just looking for some feedback with anyone that uses them as a provider. How is the coverage and speed?

    Also, what data plan did you get, and what is your useage.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Saberon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #2
    I know they currently have the largest network in Canada now with their new HSPA network. Check telusmobility.com to make SURE you are covered by their new network!

    Now the important part, if you stay with telus, do a huge favour for yourself. Phone the cancellation/retention department and get an awesome plan. They will put you on plans not on the website that are much, much, much(!) better than regular ones.
     
  3. tnfdude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #3
    I've had mine in Vancouver for about 2 weeks, and coverage is fine and so is the speed. Couldn't say what the conditions would be like in Southern Ontario, but I've got no complaints.

    I went with the basic $50 plan, figuring that I could always move up if my excess charges were getting too high. Don't have my first invoice yet, so I don't know what my total usage is...

    Sorry I couldn't be more help.
     
  4. JefferyShin macrumors regular

    JefferyShin

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #4
    Telus 3GS 16GB, in Edmonton AB.

    The coverage is decent, Telus has some spasms now and then, but other than that its fine.

    $50 basic plan + $15 bundle.
     
  5. abz786 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #5
    I am in Edmonton AB and have ROgers iphone 3gs, been using since it came out and must say that data speeds to vary from time to time. Lessard Area near the Henday is prime for 3.2 mbps data speeds, cause you actually get that true speed. anywhere else in this city, GOOD LUCK!

    Southern Ontario i have heard that telus/bell is your best option!

    WHat happens to a telus/bell iphone 3gs, when it doesn't have 3g coverage, like mine it goes to edge then gprs, what happens to the telus/bell ones?
     
  6. yalag macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #6
    I hear that push notifications don't work with telus, something with their network? Can anyone confirm?
     
  7. andyOSX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #7
    Push works AFAIK but hope you don't plan on using Visual Voicemail! Telus does not support it. Sure they have their "visual voicemail" you can pay $8 extra for but it's not iPhone VV, it's just crappy voicemail to text.

    If you have a Telus/Bell phone and slip out of 3G coverage you get NO coverage, they have not 2G network and no roaming deal with Rogers. However, they claim that they have more 3G coverage than Rogers has 2G AND 3G. I don't know how accurate that can be though, since Rogers has like an 8 year head start...

    However, Telus and Bell have NO coverage for the HSPA/3G network in almost all of Manitoba and Saskatchewan, as well as much of Quebec outside of the urban areas.
     
  8. andyOSX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    Well, pretty good in Quebec if you live in the bigger cities. Here is the coverage

    [​IMG]

    You can only use the iPhone where there is light green, not dark.
     
  9. VanMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    VanMac

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Rampaging Tokyo
    #9
    Thanks for the feedback.

    I've talked to Telus a few times now, and they have a pretty decent plan proposed for me.

    I was about to pull the trigger, and went to the :apple: store to purchase. Was planning to buy the phone outright so as not to be bogged down by a 3yr contract. I was a little dismayed to find out that the phone is locked to the carrier even if you buy it outright. :(

    I had wrongly assumed that if you paid in full it would not be tied to that network you first hook up with.

    I think I will look around for a slightly used unlocked one......
     

Share This Page