Temp monitor

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by rom623drh, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. rom623drh macrumors newbie

    rom623drh

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    #1
    need a temp monitor for G5 ppc 10.8.5 suggestions
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Temperature Monitor or Temperature Monitor Lite are apps.

    iStat Menus 1, 2 and 3 are in the menubar as well as MenuMeters.

    No G5 in the world has ever been able to run OS X 10.8, so either you have a MacPro or you are switching the numbers around. The last version the G5 can run is 10.5.8.

    All the apps I named above are PowerPC compatible.
     
  3. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #3
    Safe bet he transposed the 5 and 8. Temperature Monitor is a great little app and I have it installed on basically every system that has thermal sensors that it can detect. iStat is pretty cool, but needs Dashboard fired up
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Yeah, I figured he probably transposed it.

    Time was I'd have come down like a ton of bricks on that, but I've embarrassed myself quite enough to learn that not everyone is as anal about this stuff as I am. :D

    Which is why I just gave a list of apps.

    PS, in regards to iStat you are probably referring to the Dashboard widget. iStat menus itself (not the widget) runs in the menubar - no Dashboard needed. In fact, I long ago killed Dashboard on all my Leopard Macs.
     
  5. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #5
    Wow, I guess I never realized iStat had it's on standalone application. That's good to know.
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    iStat Menus 2 in the top right there…

    Finder.png
     
  7. rom623drh thread starter macrumors newbie

    rom623drh

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    #7
    --- Post Merged, Apr 4, 2016 ---
    Sorry, it is 1.5.8 dyslexia kicked in and they are working fine, Thank You
     

Share This Page