Temporary UI Lag fix on Macbook Pro Retina 13 late 2012

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by ChrisDB, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. ChrisDB macrumors member

    ChrisDB

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Bucharest Romania
    #1
    Hello there,

    In Yosemite , I have massive UI lag , in mission control , safari with heavy websites , even in folders and settings , is unacceptable but I found a fix .

    Instal AutoCAD trial from their website , run it than close it and that's it , the lag is almost gone . I don't know how this is happening , but AutoCAD seems to have a fix for the lag .
     
  2. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    There is a massive thread on the Apple discussion board about this very thing. I don't understand, how could running AutoCAD fix the UI lag? I don't doubt you, OP, I just genuinely don't understand.

    Can somebody please explain it to me?
     
  3. ChrisDB thread starter macrumors member

    ChrisDB

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Bucharest Romania
    #3
    Seems that AutoCAD and also 3d programs like Maya do this . Is def. a software problem .
     
  4. Beavix macrumors 6502a

    Beavix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Location:
    Romania
    #4
    If I remember correctly I heard about this very same workaround for choppy graphics when the first Retina MBP was released. I'm going to try it later on my rMBP, thanks for reminding me!

    EDIT: Yes, I remembered correctly.
     
  5. Beavix macrumors 6502a

    Beavix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Location:
    Romania
    #5
    Unfortunately on my rMBP this trick didn't work. I'm back to Mavericks and all works well now.
     
  6. drew627 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #6
    It's because the program uses a lot of resources like RAM, in which case the OS would free cached/inactive/non-wired RAM. After you close AutoCAD, the resources are freed so the graphics performance picks up. This is similar to doing a RAM "purge" in the terminal.
     

Share This Page