TenFourFox Intel

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dronecatcher, Oct 16, 2018.

  1. vddrnnr macrumors member

    vddrnnr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #2
    Hi Drone,

    Thank for the heads up I'll give it a try on my 32bit Lion and see if it's
    better than Firefox 52 in 32 bit mode :D

    Best regards,
    voidRunner
     
  2. philgxxd macrumors regular

    philgxxd

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    Location:
    Malaga, Spain
    #3
    I was thinking it's good to have more options (Palemoon) but I just realized that this is about the only option for 32bit to have an updated browser running under OSX.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #4
  4. eyoungren, Oct 16, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2018

    eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #5
    I can report it is working fine on my 17" MBP. Quick copy of my profile from the G5 here at work, quick pref change to the virtual disk on this MBP that I use for cache and it came right up. All my addons are functioning.

    Well, cool! I can browse the net on this Snow Leopard MBP again!

    EDIT: Hell, it even idles on Google News at low CPU!
    --- Post Merged, Oct 16, 2018 ---
    Crap it's fast!!!
     
  5. wicknix macrumors 6502

    wicknix

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    #6
    Pale Moon 27 / Arctic Fox will build and run on 32bit. I just don't have the set up to do it. Someone else just needs to install the macports universal packages and build it. With that said, TFF on intel is a great idea. Also, Riccardo (from the TFF team) has emailed me and cloned my arctic fox repo in the hopes of getting a 10.6 32 bit build, and down the road *hopefully* ppc 10.4/10.5 builds.

    Cheers
     
  6. AL1630 macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #7
    Very nice! One of the big problems with running Snow Leopard is that it's stuck in limbo without a major community like PowerPC, and doesn't have any up to date software for it, especially browsers... Until now, that is.
     
  7. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    This is great! Firefox ESR was getting long in the tooth on my 32-bit MacBooks. I’m looking forward to giving T4Fx86 a go!

    This is great news! Well done @wicknix :)

    I wonder if the ppc or 32-bit Intel builds of Arctic Fox will be much different in terms of speed to TenFourFox.

    These old Macs just keep getting better! :cool:
     
  8. AL1630 macrumors 6502

    AL1630

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    #9
    It's pretty amazing that the Apple community is so good at keeping computers that came out a decade or more ago relevant. The original Mac Pro got an extra few years of support, we can run Mojave on 10 year old MacBooks, and there's an up to date browser for an OS that was released in 2005. What a time to be alive! :D
     
  9. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #10
    Good deal! I was puttering about with the Core Duo MacBook Pro last week and it was pretty obvious how badly outdated all my browsing options were. I'll absolutely be giving this a go.
     
  10. Slix, Oct 17, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018

    Slix macrumors 65816

    Slix

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #11
    I'll give this a go on my Core Solo Mac Mini later and report back!

    Using the pre-built app that Ken uploaded for us.

    Edit: It's even faster than I was expecting! Nice! Without even copying my prefs over, it seems to quickly load up anything I've thrown at it so far; MacRumors' main page is often slow on older hardware.

    Screen shot 2018-10-17 at 5.16.20 PM.png
     
  11. miksat, Oct 17, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018

    miksat macrumors member

    miksat

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Location:
    Republic of Serbia
    #12
    are you kidding me? I'm literally just about to sell my 2006 macbook pro sadly.

    Update: I've tried it. Faster than Firefox 48 but slower than Opera 26. Youtube doesn't play back. Spinning beachball whenever opening page.
     
  12. raymanster macrumors 6502

    raymanster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    This is good news, I'm now using it on my 2006 Mac Mini Intel Core Duo, seems pretty good. I hope someone continues to update it, the old Intel Macs need a decent browser.
     
  13. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #14
    For sure, it seems like the fastest modern browser I've tried in OS X on my iMac 6,1... And that is a 64-bit Mac running OS X Mountain Lion.

    Just wish HTML5 video playback would be doable. I still have to restart the iMac into Linux Mint and use Google Chrome to get decent playback...
     
  14. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #15
    You have enabled MSE options in preferences? I'm getting HTML5 all the way up to 1080P fullscreen on my first gen Mac Pro...
     
  15. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #16
    With that enabled YouTube videos do play, but not at a usable framerate.
     
  16. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #17
    You could use Quicktime Enabler - works upto 720P in my tests.
     
  17. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #18
    Not 1080p? The iMac has a 1920x1200 display, so I prefer to go 1080p when available. VLC is able to handle 1080p/30 without issue.
     
  18. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #19
    I suspect QTE plays the available h264 file with integrated audio - Youtube's highest res for that is 720P - the 1080P are video and audio separate.
     
  19. wicknix macrumors 6502

    wicknix

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
  20. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #21
  21. wicknix macrumors 6502

    wicknix

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    #22
    Other than a user agent override for youtube to force the old youtube layout, i'd say the rendering engine Goanna which is used in pale moon 28 (newmoon) and basilisk (serpent) along with whatever other media backend tweaks they've made in UXP.

    Cheers
     
  22. CooperBox macrumors 65816

    CooperBox

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    France - between Ricard & Absinthe
    #23
    I've just downloaded this and runs a treat on this MacBookPro1,1 (32bit Core Duo) with OS X 10.6.8, so kudos to the developers for their progress on this FPR9 build.
    Previously I'd been using FireFox 48.02 - the latest French version compatible with Snow Leopard. It's aways performed faultlessly with this combination and even YouTube runs well.
    Now with TFF FPR9, YTube videos will not run - as others have commented.


    I have downloaded QuickTime Enabler which now appears in add-on manager/extension, but still no YTube play. Also didn't quite understand your, "You have enabled MSE options in preferences?" comment above.
    I could do with some additional assistance pls to get YTube working.
     
  23. redheeler macrumors 604

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #24
    In Preferences > TenFourFox, first checkbox from the top. YouTube videos play with this checked, but framerates are terrible.
    TenFourFox Intel Preferences.png
     
  24. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #25
    MSE option in Preferences:
    Screen Shot 2018-10-26 at 20.34.24.png

    And QTE should be visible when right clicking on the page:

    Screen Shot 2018-10-26 at 20.35.24.png

    However, for me since last night, QTE has ceased to work!
     

Share This Page

29 October 16, 2018