terminal app not working

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Harlanp92, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Harlanp92 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #1
    Hi i'm new here and i hope my time here will be worthwhile as a new Mac user. But i am Having problems opening up terminal. when i go to finder, i go under applications, and then to utilities where i find terminal and when i click it, i see something pop up at the dock and it disappears. and i notice that on a few program i try to execute, such as the expansion packs for the sims 2. if anyone have a solution, it would be greatly appreciated if you could help me.

    thanks in advance.
    Harlan
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    When you launch Terminal, does it show up on the dock? If so, have you tried clicking the dock icon, to open a Terminal window?
     
  3. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #3
    The first thing to do would be to launch the console app and look to see if there are any messages:

    Applications -> Utilities -> Console(the icon is a black looking screen with orange letters)

    Launch that, then launch terminal and see if you see anything weird.
     
  4. Harlanp92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #4
    Nope when i click the terminal.app the generic icon on the dock shows up and dissappear within one second.
     
  5. Harlanp92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #5
    wait. i don't even have anything that says console.???
     
  6. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #6
    Are you sure?In the Utilities folder????Anything?:confused:
     
  7. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #7
    You might have a corrupted system if you don't have a console application...
     
  8. Harlanp92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #8
    i'm sure, when i look in my utilities folder i see only, bluetooth file exchange, installer, network utility, and terminal and all have the generic app icon and all except network utility don't open.
     
  9. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #9
    You definitely have a corrupted system, if that's the case. I suggest an Archive and Install to correct this - check the Preserve Users and Network Settings option.
     
  10. Harlanp92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #10
    So i have to Reinstall OS X? what is Archive and Install?
     
  11. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #11
    Archive and Install is an option, introduced with Panther, and carried forward into Tiger and Leopard, that lets you reinstall Mac OS X without upgrading an older system or wiping the drive clean first (an Erase and Install).

    To do this, boot the Mac from the Mac OS X install disc. After choosing which language to use and accepting the license agreement, you'll be presented with a screen where you choose which drive to install on. Click Options, then choose Archive and Install from there as I suggested. Once that's done continue with the rest of the install process.
     

Share This Page