Terminal- Changing directories to app folders

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Jwalker7, Oct 4, 2010.

1. Jwalker7 macrumors newbie

I just started a new job and they have me working on mac since I have some basic experience. Anyways I'm working with files within an app and trying to use terminal to access some of those files.

The issue comes up when I try to change the directory in terminal to the app (/user/applications/app.app/folder). I can get into the user directory or the app directory but it won't let me into the app. I have never really used terminal before so I don't know what I should be expecting here.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Most applications are stored /Applications not /user/applications

3. LPZ macrumors 65816

If you have an admin account you should be able to do something like

Code:
    cd /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/MacOS/
    without any problems.

If you can't, then it's most likely a permissions issue.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Also if you're looking to start the application from the terminal then you want to use open <application> Like open iTunes.app

5. Jwalker7 thread starter macrumors newbie

The specific app is only stored on my admin account (which I am using) under /user/applications. When I input that string it gives me a message saying "No such file or directory".I repaired the permissions for the disk using the disk utility but its still not working. I also tried it on another mac in my department and had the same problem

6. LPZ macrumors 65816

In Terminal, enter

Code:
    cd ~; ls -al
    Please post the output.

Also, enter

Code:
    cd ~/applications; ls -al
    and post the output.

And maybe also

Code:
    cd ~/user/applications; ls -al

7. plinden macrumors 68040

plinden

It's unlikely to be /user/applications. Try /Users/<your acccount>/Applications.

Make sure you capitalize correctly.