Terminal Commands: How/Where to Save

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by khbizmail, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. khbizmail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #1
    I'm trying to follow instructions in the Jan 2011 MacWorld to remove the Ping button from iTunes. I open Terminal and type in the command:
    "defaults write com.apple.iTunes hide-ping-drop-down 1"
    but haven't a clue what to name the file when I save it—or where to save it so it will have an effect on iTunes.

    Is there someone out there who is not as clueless as me?

    I've tried Apple Support, but don't get any results even close to what I'm trying to do.

    Thank you. :confused:
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    You'll actually change the setting (which gets saved) the second you tap enter. There is no need to actually save the file manually. It's automatic.
     
  3. khbizmail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #3
    Thanks, but I just tried that, entering the following three commands, pressing the Return key after each one:

    defaults write com.apple.iTunes hide-ping-drop-down 1
    defaults write com.apple.iTunes show-store-link-arrows 1
    defaults write com.apple.iTunes invertStoreLinks 1

    And I still have the damn Ping button! Not that I can't live with it, but...
     
  4. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #4
    QuarterSwede is right. As soon as you enter the command, the preference file named com.apple.iTunes.plist in ~/Library/Preferences (where ~ denotes your Home folder) is modified. The change this makes to iTunes will be seen the next time you open that app.
     
  5. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #5
    Did you quit iTunes and then reopen it?
     
  6. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #6
    DOH! I forgot to mention that. :eek:
     
  7. khbizmail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #7
    I did. I quit it before I entered the information. Then restarted iTunes.
     
  8. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #8
    You've got the commands wrong. For example, it's
    defaults write com.apple.iTunes hide-ping-dropdown -bool TRUE

    [EDIT] On second look, there are conflicting reports everywhere. some say use "-bool TRUE/FALSE" and some say use "1" Hmmm. I wonder if Apple changed the settings in 10.1.
     
  9. khbizmail thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #9
    Never mind. I found an AppleScript on dougscripts.com that does the deed.

    Thank you for your help.
     
  10. LPZ, Feb 5, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011

    LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #10
    The OP seems to have an extra hyphen. Should be "dropdown" not "drop-down". Can't test either right now, unfortunately.

    All the Applescript does is invoke

    Code:
    do shell script ("defaults write 'com.apple.iTunes' 'hide-ping-dropdown' -bool YES")
    		do shell script ("defaults write 'com.apple.iTunes' 'show-store-link-arrows' -bool YES")
    Note it's "dropdown" not "drop-down".
     

Share This Page