Terminal / .sh app

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Doman, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. Doman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #1
    Hey, I recently got a command line program because I'm too much of a broke college student to pay for anything with a GUI and I want to automate this a bit. Here's what I've done.

    Save As -> Script.sh
    chmod +x Script.sh
    (Doesn't double click to run ~ opens in TextEdit)

    I open terminal and type sh Script.sh
    It runs.
    How do I get it to just run?

    When the script calls for sudo, I imagine I just get a prompt. Then after that I need it to enter in information once it opens the application.
    The automated equivalence of:
    Program> set status=on
    Program> set loader=active
    Program> set buffer=10
    Program> quit

    Echo doesn't work, so I'm lost. Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    Doman
     
  2. Doman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    #2
    edit: now a .command file.
    other issues remain.
     
  3. Sander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #3
    Add #!/bin/sh as the first line of your script. That way, it becomes a "standalone executable". As to the function of your script, I don't quite grasp what you're trying to accomplish. If you're trying to automate some other existing application, maybe you need to look into AppleScript.
     
  4. SRossi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #4
    Echo wont work if u have "E" as a capital all script declarations are in small letters like: "echo", "if", "while" etc.

    Stephen
     
  5. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #5
    ditto on the "#!/bin/sh" in the first line. Also, don't forget to "chmod +x". Honestly, I've never done the ".command" thing. I just do "mycommand.sh" with the above two details.
     

Share This Page