Terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hndn, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. hndn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #1
    I want to change to Google as the default search engine in Safari. In terminal, when I input "vi," this is what I get...
    None of the 3 comments on the terminal screen make sense, although I did tried all 3.
    I need help please.
    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    I thought Google was the default search engine in Safari.
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Isn't Google the standard search engine (in the upper right search field) in Safari for quite a while?

    Or do you mean it the other way around? Changing to Altavista instead of Google (example)?
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    vi is a UNIX text editor ... what command are you trying to run in Terminal?

    What version of Safari? Google is already default in 4.0.2.
     
  5. hndn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #5
    spinnerlys, swiftaw: Yes, google is default on the upper right, & I want it to be default on the search bar too.
    r.j.s. I have safari 3. I haven't updated to the lastest mac osx when it was first released since there were many crashes. Indeed, I've been forgotten about it :) Is this reliable to update now?
    Thanks.
     
  6. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #6
    What did you expect when you type vi? You haven't told it what file to open. Try:
    vi filename
    The comments make perfect sense and tell you how to get help, quit the program, etc. They are standard vi commands. Maybe you should try a different editor that is more user friendly. Vi is quite powerful, if you don't understand it, then it is hard to use.
     
  7. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Out of my own curiosity and the fact that it may help the OP out -- Does anyone know exactly how to change the default search engine Safari Uses?


    I didn't see any options in it, so I assume it does use Terminal, though someone said the "Vi" command is a text editor so I guess that's not it. .
     
  8. hndn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #8
    This is what I'm trying to do (got it from macosxhints)

    1. Launch Terminal, and use the vi editor to open the Safari executable file. The command will probably look like this for most users:

    % vi /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/MacOS/Safari

    2. Search for the text google. The first occurrence will be a string that looks like this:

    http://%@.google.com/%@?q=%@&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

    Well, I don't really understand it & since it's powerful, I guess I shouldn't messed up with it :confused:
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
  10. Lanbrown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    #10
  11. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #11
    Glims makes it very easy to change the default search engine in Safari.
     
  12. hndn thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #12
    aaaaaaaahhhhh :D I overlooked it. Thanks rjs.
     

Share This Page