Terribble issue with MacBook and Apple

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Bethie7, Jun 25, 2012.

1. Bethie7 macrumors newbie

I'll be as short as possible with trying to included all the facts. We have been very good customers of Apple products. My daughter saved her money to buy a MacBook for college. The warranty is up in August. ( we were planning
    on renewing it) but about 10 days ago, she took it into he store to have the switch or the CD ejector (sorry, im not good with computers or correct names) replaced. We went home, it won't turn on, so back we go to the store. The hard drive was shot. We thought it was a strange coincidence but we were told, " it happens" Ok I don't know much about computers. (We had it back to the store 4 times in 10 days.)
    2 days later, it won't turn on again. We thought it was another bad hard drive. They tell us it's water damage, in fact, it's full of water. It has been on her desk since it was brought it home, she has bought as much protective things as possible. She never takes it in the bathroom, etc. How can this happen? We did nothing to it. She can't afford another one for school right now.They won't fix it? I think this is awfully suspicious that this happened, the one thing they won't repair happens mysteriously right before the warranty was up and they had would have to repair other things?how could it be full of water, wouln't we be able to see anything? What can we do? Besides buying a new one (which we can't do at this time) I honestly think they did something to it. She hadn't even asked for a new one, just wants hers repaired.Is there anything we can do? Thank you!

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

If there is water damage, the warranty/AppleCare coverage is voided. While you may find some sympathetic rep at another Apple store, I wouldn't count on it.

3. Bethie7 thread starter macrumors newbie