terrible i7 gaming performance

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wilycoder, May 1, 2010.

  1. wilycoder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #1
    Today I purchased a 15" MBP with an i7 processor.

    I just tried to play the doom3 demo that is found on apple's website.

    When i get into the actual game, it is running at like 1 or 2fps. WAY worse than my old macbook which had an Intel X3100...

    I have automatic graphics switching disabled.

    Why is this happening?

    Also, the doom3 demo asked me to install rosetta, even though apple.com says it is a universal binary...
     
  2. EstrlM3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #2
    Might because you have automated graphic switching DISABLED

    so your trying to run the game on intel HD graphics.
     
  3. wilycoder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #3
    when automatic switching is disabled, the system uses the nvidia 330m...

    besides, even the intel HD would give better performance than what I am seeing...
     
  4. EstrlM3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #4
    ah i see :)

    Maybe turn on automatic switching anyways and check it out. troubleshoot it
     
  5. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #5
    Such low fps might mean you've maxed out the gpu's bandwidth. How much AA are you using?
     
  6. youssefm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #6
    I suggest you install rosetta as well... I've ran into a similar issue multiple times
     
  7. wilycoder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #7
    no AA being used.

    Its strange because i know the GPU works great when I fire up the itunes visualizer...
     
  8. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    Could be the rosetta thing. Also might be heating issues. I heard i7 mbps get really hot.
     
  9. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    How could Rosetta not being installed be an issue?
     
  10. wilycoder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #10
    I just installed the lego star wars demo and it ran great.

    Its something specific to doom3 :confused:
     
  11. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #11
    If you need Rosetta, it means it's running a PowerPC binary, which means you're emulating code.

    Honestly, 1-2 fps seems strange, so perhaps there's something wrong with the graphics drivers when running that PPC demo.
     
  12. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #12
    There are so many things wrong in this thread I don't know where to begin...


    1. You have to install Rosetta or any PPC game or application won't run. If you are running a PPC game demo its a good bet Rosetta is all ready installed.

    2. Why in the world are you running such an old game in the first place? BioShock would be a great game to test since its native and doesn't have to be emulated. I believe they a demo available now (though I didn't check). There are other Intel native games to try as well...

    3. I've ran a few PPC games that required Rosetta and while they didn't bottom out on FPS its just a crazy mess. Doom 3 wasn't that great to begin with so if there isn't a native build for Intel its not a huge loss. Again, you will feel better when you see native Intel games on your new purchase.

    4. Make sure you are plugged in to a power source while playing. I have noticed when I'm playing Left4Dead 2 on the Windows side that if I'm not plugged in the FPS suck. Power saving will get you...

    -P
     

Share This Page