test memory upgrade

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by skasol, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. skasol macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #1
    what software do you recommend to test my hardware with a new memory upgrade. I sent my computer to applecare and they deemed my upgrade 16GB memory to be an issue with my computer so they replaced it and put the apple memory back in it. I have a 2011 cMBP i7 2.0

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Hold the D key at startup, it will get you into Apple Hardware Test where the memory is tested.

    Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

    Other ways are rember and memtest86.
     
  3. skasol thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #3
    Thank u. Perfect.

    ----------

    I am going to reinstall my memory. I don't believe anything is wrong with them.
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    What brand do you have, corsair has quite a few problems and is mentioned lots of time here on MR, Crucial is much better.
     
  5. skasol thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #5
    Corsair vengeance. When I hold D nothing happens. I tried a few times it just boots to the desktop. Any tips?
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    Hmm, I though a 2011 had Apple Hardware Test build into the OS, guess not, if you have Installer disks use that.
    If you read the Link I gave it tells you more about it.
     
  7. skasol thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #7
    I don't have installer disk. I upgraded to mountain lion.
     
  8. maxosx macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    That's an advantage of retina models. Only Apple memory is soldered in. No chance for errors.
     
  9. skasol thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #9
    That's good. Thanks for the observation.
     
  10. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    Don't just press and release it, hold it until you see it gets into AHT, but if this does not work I am out of ideas, oh, actually not, do you have a wireless keyboard, if so it has known bugs in OS X 10.8.2, key strokes not registered at startup, the way around it is to press the Power key on the wireless keyboard shortly, then hold the D key.
    (I haave the same problem on my Mini)

    You can actually test if you have this issue, if you hold any other startup shortcut and it does not work you know it's not registering.

    Edit: Forget it, it's a MBP
     
  11. skasol thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #11
    Thank u for your help. I held option and D and it worked. Thank u.
     
  12. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #12
    That's odd, as you can read in the link Apple says D key only.:confused:

    But, you got it so it doesn't matter.
     
  13. skasol thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
  14. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #14
    Never heard this, but I guess you're right.
     

Share This Page