Test suggests USB3 is almost as good as TB for external SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Vghty, Feb 16, 2013.

1. Vghty, Feb 16, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2013

Vghty macrumors newbie

My MacBook Pro Retina has a pretty large SSD (768GB) but for my work I often deal with very large files. So I wanted to have some portable external storage too, both for copying as well as for direct access by software applications of various types (including database access).

Being exited about Thunderbolt, I was wondering whether bus-powered TB drives would be preferable over USB3 enclosures, even if they are much more expensive?

I took an OCZ Vertex-2 240GB SSD that came from a previous computer and tested in in several enclosures I had available. I also compared these to the internal SSD of the MBP itself. These are the results (for whatever its worth, I’m not a professional tester, but want to see myself what works best for me):

[​IMG]

My tentative conclusions:

• The Lacie Rugged in TB mode is hardly faster than USB3. This is true for cheap USB3 enclosures as well as for the Lacie’s own USB3 mode. The enclosure is well crafted and sturdy, but also big and heavy – adding almost 20% of the laptop’s weight in to bag.
    • The cheapest USB3 enclosure I tried, called “Diginote USB3” had a very good performance but also is very portable and solid made.
    • One of the cheap USB3 enclosures I tried (König CMP-MOBSTORE96) had an abnormal slow performance. It also required an unusual cable (USB3 A-to-A).
    • Not surprisingly, the only HDD I used compares bad to the SSD. However, in the real life copy of a 900MB file he did quite OK, confirming me that such drives are still pretty well for backup purposes.

So, I’m going to stick to the Diginote enclosure for a while!