Testing RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by IceMacMac, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. IceMacMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #1
    I am looking to test some new RAM.

    I see that Memtest only officially supports up to 10.5.

    Can anyone suggest an app for that?
     
  2. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
  3. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #3
    That was the first thing I thought about...but pricey to run a one-time test.
     
  4. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
  5. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #5
    I'd heard that AHT doesn't uncover certain types of RAM problems. Of course this was probably just the contention of a vendor trying to sell an expensive solution.

    Frankly if ToolTech was $59 or something...I'd buy it. But I already have DiskWarrior and I chafe at MicroMat's pricing. $100...geesh.
     
  6. Phantom Gremlin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    #6
    save your money, don't buy anything

    Why do you think you need to test your new RAM?

    The Mac Pro is unique in Apple's product line, because it supports ECC memory. Which means that it has hardware which can detect about 99.99% of all possible memory errors.
     
  7. RonaldMoore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #7
    Not all RAM is created equal

    Not all RAM is created equal. Some brands and types will work flawlessly, while others will not. Some memory is so bad that it's obvious: the machine won't boot, or crashes almost immediately. Others can be more subtle, silently corrupting your data in ways that you may not notice until it's too late. It is recommended that you test any new memory (or the existing memory in a new computer) as soon as it's installed. As with all electronics you should also consider the hardware burn-in period where most problems will first crop up. If you get through the first 30 days or so without issues, chances are you'll be good for years to come.
     
  8. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #8
    It's a long story. I'll spare you the tedious details.

    I'll probably use Apple's hardware test and leave it at that.
     
  9. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #9
    Download Rember. Its a great way to test RAM.
     
  10. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #10
    Wasn't working for me...and I heard it's not fully compatible with more recent systems.

    I'm curious about LloydTools....39$...for Memory and Drive testing. I just can't find any reviews that I trust.
     
  11. cutterman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #11
    I have used memtest in 10.6 without problems.
     
  12. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #12
    I was about to post this, I swear I've run it on 10.6
     
  13. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #13
    You should use bootcd version. When running in OSX, the OS and other applications will be utilizing memory. That means Memtest will not be able to test bytes in use. If you run it over time, probably it will cover all bytes. But the bootable version is faster.

    You should run the test for at least 10 hours.


    I don't know in detail hoew ECC works, but Memtest is done by apple service centers themselves on mac pro too.

    Somehow I think that if a device that has a self-check is not working, you can't rely on the self check anymore.
     
  14. cutterman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    #14
    Memtest can also run in single user mode, allowing a scan of all memory.
     
  15. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #15
    In case anyone hasn't seen it...

    This site has a Guide to RAM Testing here:
    http://guides.macrumors.com/Testing_RAM

    I don't know if all the info is current.

    I'll try Memtest (though in the specs it doesn't include support for 10.6)
     
  16. firefoxsilver9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #16
    memtest still recommended on newer systems/osx versions?

    Hello all. Sorry to piggyback this thread but I just bought a 2011 MBP 13" and a Kingston 8GB ram kit on Amazon and i ran memtest in single-user mode over the weekend to test it and make sure everything was working OK. My question is is memtest reliable when testing 8GB of ram in OS X 10.6? I've haven't gotten any kernel panics or crashes but just wanna make sure i won't come across a problem a month or so down the road. Here's the log in case that helps:

     
  17. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #17
    I've had so many Finder freezes with 64-bit kernel and 48 GIGs of new RAM that I've been a vigilante to try to solve the problem.

    So I chased more money after the elusive dream: $100 for Tech Tool Pro 6. So far the 15 minute RAM test detected no RAM problems. I'll run a longer test tomorrow night.
     
  18. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #18
    When you use Techtool do you boot from the disc?


    It's good to have license around for it anyway. Totally worth the money.
     
  19. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #19
    The first go round I just ran it from the boot drive. It doesn't seem to support lengthy/deeper scans so I'm sorely disappointed about that.
     
  20. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #20
    Hmmmm.... could you run it in single user mode the way Memtest says to?
    Couldn't that in theory work with any app that's installed?
     
  21. IceMacMac thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #21
    The app has a special tool to create a bootable volume for emergencies, etc. I just haven't had time to mess with it.

    But unless I'm missing something you can't set the RAM test for longer than (can't remember exactly) an hour or something.
     
  22. IeU macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #22
    One of the 5 passes failed, does this mean my RAM stick is bad?

    Code:
    Memtest version 4.22 (64-bit)
    Copyright (C) 2004 Charles Cazabon
    Copyright (C) 2004 - 2008 Tony Scaminaci (Macintosh port)
    Licensed under the GNU General Public License version 2 only
    
    Log file written to /Users/Constance/memtest.log
    
    Mac OS X 10.7.3 (11D50b) running in single user mode
    Memory Page Size: 4096
    System has 4 Intel core(s) with SSE
    Requested memory: 7695MB (8068878336 bytes)
    Available memory: 7695MB (8068878336 bytes)
    NOTE: Memory request is too large, reducing to acceptable value...
    Allocated memory: 7479MB (7842949696 bytes) at local address 0x0000000101000000
    Attempting memory lock... locked successfully
    Splitting allocated memory into 2 comparison buffers...
    Buffer A: 3739MB (3921474848 bytes) starts at local address 0x0000000101000000
    Buffer B: 3739MB (3921474848 bytes) starts at local address 0x00000001eabcf520
    
    Running 5 test sequences... (CTRL-C to quit)
    
    Test sequence 1 of 5:
    
    Running tests on entire 7479MB region...
      Stuck Address       :    ok
      Linear PRN          :    ok
    Running comparison tests using 3739MB buffers...
      Random Value        :    ok
      Compare XOR         :    ok
      Compare SUB         :    ok
      Compare MUL         :    ok
      Compare DIV         :    ok
      Compare OR          :    ok
      Compare AND         :    ok
      Sequential Increment:    ok
      Solid Bits          :    ok
      Block Sequential    :    ok
      Checkerboard        :    ok
      Bit Spread          :    ok
      Bit Flip            :    ok
      Walking Ones        :    ok
      Walking Zeroes      :    ok
    
    Test sequence 2 of 5:
    
    Running tests on entire 7479MB region...
      Stuck Address       :    ok
      Linear PRN          :    ok
    Running comparison tests using 3739MB buffers...
      Random Value        :    ok
      Compare XOR         :    ok
      Compare SUB         :    ok
      Compare MUL         :    ok
      Compare DIV         :    ok
      Compare OR          :    ok
      Compare AND         :    ok
      Sequential Increment:    ok
      Solid Bits          :    ok
      Block Sequential    :    
    
    FAILURE! Data mismatch at local BUFA address 0x0000000187a1bee0, BUFB address 0x00000002715eb400
    BUFA Data: 0x1e1e1e1e1e1e1e1e, BUFB Data: 0x1a1e1e1e1e1e1e1e
    
      Checkerboard        :    ok
      Bit Spread          :    ok
      Bit Flip            :    ok
      Walking Ones        :    ok
      Walking Zeroes      :    ok
    
    Test sequence 3 of 5:
    
    Running tests on entire 7479MB region...
      Stuck Address       :    ok
      Linear PRN          :    ok
    Running comparison tests using 3739MB buffers...
      Random Value        :    ok
      Compare XOR         :    ok
      Compare SUB         :    ok
      Compare MUL         :    ok
      Compare DIV         :    ok
      Compare OR          :    ok
      Compare AND         :    ok
      Sequential Increment:    ok
      Solid Bits          :    ok
      Block Sequential    :    ok
      Checkerboard        :    ok
      Bit Spread          :    ok
      Bit Flip            :    ok
      Walking Ones        :    ok
      Walking Zeroes      :    ok
    
    Test sequence 4 of 5:
    
    Running tests on entire 7479MB region...
      Stuck Address       :    ok
      Linear PRN          :    ok
    Running comparison tests using 3739MB buffers...
      Random Value        :    ok
      Compare XOR         :    ok
      Compare SUB         :    ok
      Compare MUL         :    ok
      Compare DIV         :    ok
      Compare OR          :    ok
      Compare AND         :    ok
      Sequential Increment:    ok
      Solid Bits          :    ok
      Block Sequential    :    ok
      Checkerboard        :    ok
      Bit Spread          :    ok
      Bit Flip            :    ok
      Walking Ones        :    ok
      Walking Zeroes      :    ok
    
    Test sequence 5 of 5:
    
    Running tests on entire 7479MB region...
      Stuck Address       :    ok
      Linear PRN          :    ok
    Running comparison tests using 3739MB buffers...
      Random Value        :    ok
      Compare XOR         :    ok
      Compare SUB         :    ok
      Compare MUL         :    ok
      Compare DIV         :    ok
      Compare OR          :    ok
      Compare AND         :    ok
      Sequential Increment:    ok
      Solid Bits          :    ok
      Block Sequential    :    ok
      Checkerboard        :    ok
      Bit Spread          :    ok
      Bit Flip            :    ok
      Walking Ones        :    ok
      Walking Zeroes      :    ok
    
    *** Memory Test Failed ***  Please check logfile for details.
    Execution time: 13188 seconds.
    
     
    And why hasnt it tested all the memory?

    How can i test all the memory? (i ran it in single-user-mode)

    Code:
    Requested memory: 7695MB (8068878336 bytes)
    Available memory: 7695MB (8068878336 bytes)
    NOTE: Memory request is too large, reducing to acceptable value...
    Allocated memory: 7479MB (7842949696 bytes) at local address 
     

Share This Page