testing ram?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by heliocentric, May 28, 2010.

  1. heliocentric Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #1
    is there a good program to test the new 4gb of ram i have just installed in my new macbook book is all working ok?

    thanks
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    If it boots and you can see that all 4GB is utilized in Activity Monitor, you're fine
     
  3. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #3
    so their isn't a program to check that the ram isn't faulty in anyway ?

    I see 3.75gb in activity monitor not 4gb?

    Thanks
     
  4. AndyK macrumors 65816

    AndyK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #4
    :apple: -> About This Mac -> Read -> ??? -> Profit or Tears.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    You could run hardware test from the OS X disk if you really want.

    You see 3.75GB because your GPU is taking 256MB
     
  6. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #6
    It says 4gb in about mac
     
  7. MacTech68, May 28, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #7
    Apple Hardware Test rarely finds tiny problems that can cause all sorts of odd problems.

    The best I've found to date are:

    for MacOS 8.6-9.2.2: TechTool Pro v3.0.x with all tests enabled

    for MacOS X: Rember - a GUI front end for memtest

    Be warned. For 4GB of RAM these tests could take several hours.
    ________
    AMC Concord specifications
     
  8. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #8
    i just ran remember (took about 30 mins) seemed to find no problems...

    im only testing because my new macbook is running quite sluggish at times, maybe its the 640gb harddrive i put in? i read they can be quite slow.

    i have have now ordered a 7200rpm 500gb seagate harddrive to replace it.
     
  9. MacTech68, May 28, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #9
    It's been a while since I ran rember on a new Intel mac, I usually boot from scratch, in safe mode and use the option to quit finder. It doesn't test RAM tht is "in use" (and it should tell you how much is in use).

    memtest is the command line version you can run from single user mode, which tests even more. Despite these drawbacks, I found rember & memtest able to find problematic memory modules that the OS X version of TechToolPro & Apple Hardware Test were unable to find.

    A 7200 RPM drive is certainly going to give you better performance. Also be aware of free space since virtual memory can slow your machine down once a small amount of space will be fragmented all over the drive (but I assume you don't have a 500GB drive with 450GB of data on it :eek: ).
    ________
    growing marijuana
     

Share This Page