Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!
  • Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

gastod

macrumors newbie
Oct 26, 2013
23
2
I did as said on forum, jumper, flash etc etc.. same problems 2x boot for Apollo e 1x for usb c hub with attached usb3 case with 2 ssd ... I think is Apollo thunderbolt problems on 1x boot in linking....
 
Last edited:
Comment

jpg.jpeg

macrumors newbie
Mar 11, 2020
4
1
1. After mod, Did you verify 3.3v on header pins with DMM (per the link)?
2. If everything ok, check continuity, pins 1-8, between SOIC8 clip and connector at end of ribbon cable. I found opens due to poor solder joints on the clip.

Eventually ended up buying a Pomona clip. hopefully you didn’t damage winbond chip.

good luck
I did. I was skeptical that my Titan Ridge card showed up in working condition - it came covered in "amazon warehouse deals" stickers, so I bought a second. Flashed and verified the new firmware no problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: foojitsu1
Comment

jpg.jpeg

macrumors newbie
Mar 11, 2020
4
1
Hi all, here's my backup for the original blue chip firmware. (unzip it)
 

Attachments

  • bluebackup.bin.zip
    269.7 KB · Views: 126
Comment

GINCALI77

macrumors newbie
Mar 14, 2020
1
1
Being a newb it's a bit challenging and scary to ask something that might seem so trivial and silly to many in here.. but here I go.
I happen to have a Mac Pro 1,1 with a nice configuration that I really needed Thunderbolt capability on it. I also managed to score a card for only $40, but sadly I am finding that it is the lesser GC Alpine Ridge!

Regardless, I have been scouring this forum and posts I have seen seem to point that Alpine Ridge might work! But is that only for 4,1 / 5,1? Am I doomed? I could've sworn I saw DSM2 mentioning that if flashed it too could work, and possibly on all mac pros!?

Anyone can guide me? Thanks in advance.

ps Pray you get well soon DSM2.Hackintosh, I pray we all get past this scary moment!
 
  • Like
Reactions: TooLiveDrew
Comment

joevt

macrumors 68040
Jun 21, 2012
3,039
1,371
Being a newb it's a bit challenging and scary to ask something that might seem so trivial and silly to many in here.. but here I go.
I happen to have a Mac Pro 1,1 with a nice configuration that I really needed Thunderbolt capability on it. I also managed to score a card for only $40, but sadly I am finding that it is the lesser GC Alpine Ridge!

Regardless, I have been scouring this forum and posts I have seen seem to point that Alpine Ridge might work! But is that only for 4,1 / 5,1? Am I doomed? I could've sworn I saw DSM2 mentioning that if flashed it too could work, and possibly on all mac pros!?

Anyone can guide me? Thanks in advance.

ps Pray you get well soon DSM2.Hackintosh, I pray we all get past this scary moment!
I can use GC-ALPINE RIDGE for USB 3.1 gen 2 by writing a couple bytes in EFI before macOS boots (I have an EFI Shell startup script). The jumper wire is not sufficient for Force Power. I use 3.3V from SATA power with 8.2kΩ pull-up resistor for that. I have not investigated getting Thunderbolt connection to work (Windows doesn't detect connected devices so warm boot from Windows method won't work).
 
Comment

IndioX

macrumors 6502a
Oct 1, 2018
857
358
austria/europe
a pure USB3.1gen2 card with 2 ports would be cheaper and would not need an external power supply

IMG_5625.jpg



thunderbolt with win warmboot will not work on a alpine ridge > only titan ridge !
and with a titan USB3.1gen2 works on coldboot without any modification
 
Comment

naerct

macrumors regular
Mar 19, 2019
164
32
Southern NH
Nice thread. I never thought about getting TB on my 5,1, but this pursuit sounds promising. I'd be happy to free up a 4x PCIe slot if I can get TB3. TB3 and OSs beyond Mojave is all I need to make my cMP last forever... (I turn 72 in May). I already have USB ports at 3.1 gen2, and NVMe drives (960 & 970) getting reads of 2.4GB/s and 2.8GB/s respectively. I have the old internal SATA2 internal ports with five 4TB spinners in RAID5 getting 450MB/s reads. My external data is pretty slow for large file backups. I have a 8TB WD USB3 Elements, but that only gets 30MB/s. My 4-bay SATA external is also on RAID5, but with port replication, it is deathly slow, compared to TB3 speeds. {All speeds from actual BM speed tester.}
 
Comment

gastod

macrumors newbie
Oct 26, 2013
23
2
I did as said on forum, jumper, flash etc etc.. same problems 2x boot for Apollo e 1x for usb c hub with attached usb3 case with 2 ssd ... I think is Apollo thunderbolt problems on 1x boot in linking....
sorry error to type again...
 
Comment

markpaterson

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2014
18
5
Can anybody help me with this?

I ended up picking up a Mac flashed GC Titan Ridge on eBay which works great with my LG 5K on my Mac Pro 5,1. I had to jump pins 3 & 5 on the TB header for it to show up as a PCI device (the seller includes a jumper cable for this). I also have to power cycle the monitor for it to work, but in short, it works without having to boot into windows.

I'd love to be able to get the brightness control working though, and speakers/webcam/mic/USB if possible.

I tried connecting this 5 pin USB 2.0 header cable to the 5 pin row of the 9 pin header cable that comes with the Titan Ridge. It has a USB A connector on the other end. I plugged the USB A into the back of my Mac Pro but I still didn't get any joy.

I know I have the connection between the 5 pin and 9 pin cables the correct way around because the S-GND wire is fatter and can be easily recognized.

I've seen reports on this thread that this works with the LG 4K monitor, so I'm not sure what I did wrong…
With two DisplayPort 1.4 inputs, the GC-TITAN RIDGE can support two USB-C displays such as the LG UltraFine 4K (but you should also connect the USB 2.0 header to support audio, brightness control, and USB ports of the display).

I also tried connecting 4 of the pins from my USB A cable to the 4 pin section of the header cable (by basically forcing the 5th pin to stick out over the edge - sounds painful but it didn't cause any damage).
 
Last edited:
Comment

joevt

macrumors 68040
Jun 21, 2012
3,039
1,371
Can anybody help me with this?

I ended up picking up a Mac flashed GC Titan Ridge on eBay which works great with my LG 5K on my Mac Pro 5,1. I had to jump pins 3 & 5 on the TB header for it to show up as a PCI device (the seller includes a jumper cable for this). I also have to power cycle the monitor for it to work, but in short, it works without having to boot into windows.

I'd love to be able to get the brightness control working though, and speakers/webcam/mic/USB if possible.

I tried connecting this 5 pin USB 2.0 header cable to the 5 pin row of the 9 pin header cable that comes with the Titan Ridge. It has a USB A connector on the other end. I plugged the USB A into the back of my Mac Pro but I still didn't get any joy.

I know I have the connection between the 5 pin and 9 pin cables the correct way around because the S-GND wire is fatter and can be easily recognized.

I've seen reports on this thread that this works with the LG 4K monitor, so I'm not sure what I did wrong…

I also tried connecting 4 of the pins from my USB A cable to the 4 pin section of the header cable (by basically forcing the 5th pin to stick out over the edge - sounds painful but it didn't cause any damage).
Try connecting a mouse to verify USB 2.0 functionality of the GC-TITAN RIDGE Thunderbolt ports (if you only connect one 4 pin, then only one Thunderbolt port will have USB 2.0).

If the LG UltraFine 4K is the new Thunderbolt 3 version (has a Titan Ridge controller that supports either Thunderbolt or USB-C connection), then it will not use the USB 2.0 header of the GC-TITAN RIDGE. It will use its own USB controller which requires PCIe tunnelling over Thunderbolt to work. When a LG display is connected using Thunderbolt, a new USB Bus should appear in the USB section of System Information.app and you should see LG UltraFine 4K USB devices such as audio, webcam, mic, USB ports.

I don't know of a method for Titan Ridge Thunderbolt 3 devices to connect to a Thunderbolt 3 port using USB-C mode instead of Thunderbolt mode. I think using a normal USB-C cable is not sufficient to force USB-C mode since it may still allow 20 Gbps Thunderbolt connection. A USB-C dock won't help, because they usually only include two lanes of DisplayPort (you'll be limited to 4K 30Hz).
 
Comment

markpaterson

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2014
18
5
Try connecting a mouse to verify USB 2.0 functionality of the GC-TITAN RIDGE Thunderbolt ports (if you only connect one 4 pin, then only one Thunderbolt port will have USB 2.0).

If the LG UltraFine 4K is the new Thunderbolt 3 version (has a Titan Ridge controller that supports either Thunderbolt or USB-C connection), then it will not use the USB 2.0 header of the GC-TITAN RIDGE. It will use its own USB controller which requires PCIe tunnelling over Thunderbolt to work. When a LG display is connected using Thunderbolt, a new USB Bus should appear in the USB section of System Information.app and you should see LG UltraFine 4K USB devices such as audio, webcam, mic, USB ports.

I don't know of a method for Titan Ridge Thunderbolt 3 devices to connect to a Thunderbolt 3 port using USB-C mode instead of Thunderbolt mode. I think using a normal USB-C cable is not sufficient to force USB-C mode since it may still allow 20 Gbps Thunderbolt connection. A USB-C dock won't help, because they usually only include two lanes of DisplayPort (you'll be limited to 4K 30Hz).

Ah I didn't realize that each section of the header corresponded to a unique Thunderbolt port! Unfortunately I still can't get working is brightness/speakers/etc on the LG monitor. I have the 5K monitor, but it's the previous version that isn't capable of being used by the iPad Pro as a second monitor over USB C.

I have 2 PCI devices listed in Slot 4, the TitanRidge Thunderbolt Controller, and a USB eXtensible Host Controller. I don't see anything related to the LG 5K in the USB section, but I do see an entry for USB 3.1 Bus. This still appears when I remove the LG monitor. Is this the Titan Ridge? Or this might be something related to my DosDude1 Catalina install?

Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 11.03.07 AM.png


Do you mean connect a mouse to the USB A cable coming out from the Titan Ridge? Unfortunately I can't do that because it's a USB A Male cable. The only thing I can do is plug the USB A into something else.

However, I tried plugging my iPad Pro (USB C) into the spare Thunderbolt port and it connects successfully and shows up in Finder (I'm using Catalina). I have no real way to test the speed of the connection though. I assume this is not USB 3.0 speed?

I also have a USB C hub (which has USB 2.0, USB 3.0, HDMI, Ethernet, and SD) into one of the Thunderbolt ports, and the only thing on it that doesn't work is USB 3.0 (assuming because the Titan Ridge only provides USB 2.0?).

I also noticed an anomoly when I connect a USB C hard drive to the Thunderbolt port. Disk Utility will fail to format it. Confirmed this with 2 different drives (1 SSD, 1 HDD). Not a big deal for me, as I have no plans to use it for this, but just thought I'd mention it.

Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 11.25.51 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 10.56.59 AM.png


Could my bad luck getting the LG stuff to work be related to me having Catalina and not Mojave? Also, I DO NOT have OpenCore installed - could that be the issue with my LG? And with the hard drive errors?
 
Last edited:
Comment

joevt

macrumors 68040
Jun 21, 2012
3,039
1,371
I have 2 PCI devices listed in Slot 4, the TitanRidge Thunderbolt Controller, and a USB eXtensible Host Controller. I don't see anything related to the LG 5K in the USB section, but I do see an entry for USB 3.1 Bus. This still appears when I remove the LG monitor. Is this the Titan Ridge? Or this might be something related to my DosDude1 Catalina install?
That is the USB Controller of the GC-TITAN RIDGE. There should be a separate USB Bus for the LG Display. It won't work unless you get PCIe tunnelling to work. Try a warm boot?

Do you mean connect a mouse to the USB A cable coming out from the Titan Ridge? Unfortunately I can't do that because it's a USB A Male cable. The only thing I can do is plug the USB A into something else.
I mean use a USB-C (male) to USB-A (female) adapter to connect a mouse to each Thunderbolt port to make sure your USB 2.0 header connection is working.

However, I tried plugging my iPad Pro (USB C) into the spare Thunderbolt port and it connects successfully and shows up in Finder (I'm using Catalina). I have no real way to test the speed of the connection though. I assume this is not USB 3.0 speed?
The USB section of System Information.app shows what the connection speeds are. Also, you can use IORegistryExplorer.app to view what USB bus the iPad Pro is connected to (Titan Ridge USB 3.0, or your Mac Pro USB 2.0).
Code:
ioreg -ilfw0 > ioreg.txt
system_profiler SPUSBDataType  > system_profiler_usb.txt

I also have a USB C hub (which has USB 2.0, USB 3.0, HDMI, Ethernet, and SD) into one of the Thunderbolt ports, and the only thing on it that doesn't work is USB 3.0 (assuming because the Titan Ridge only provides USB 2.0?).
Titan Ridge should support USB 3.0 out of the box (but you're using a flashed version which may have different behavior - I think there was mention of XHCI problems with the custom firmware that still need to be worked out?).

I also noticed an anomoly when I connect a USB C hard drive to the Thunderbolt port. Disk Utility will fail to format it. Confirmed this with 2 different drives (1 SSD, 1 HDD). Not a big deal for me, as I have no plans to use it for this, but just thought I'd mention it.
Strange. Is it connected with USB 3.x (which you say doesn't work with the USB-C hub) or USB 2.0 (which you say haven't tested successfully yet)?

Could my bad luck getting the LG stuff to work be related to me having Catalina and not Mojave? Also, I DO NOT have OpenCore installed - could that be the issue with my LG? And with the hard drive errors?
If you're using a custom firmware Titan Ridge, then you probably need the SSDT stuff that requires Open Core to inject.
 
Comment

jpg.jpeg

macrumors newbie
Mar 11, 2020
4
1
I have 4,1>5,1 as well and currently have to boot 2x's for TB drivers to load properly with "flashed" TR.

If using DSM2 EFI folder, I found I had to cold boot w/ option key, select Mojave, then warm restart back into Mojave to establish connection.

For now, I'm using Nico's EFI folder (colleague of DSM2) with a slightly modified SSDT (downloaded from tonymac) to where I corrected ACPI path to match my system. It's still requires 2x boot but without option key and works with both Mojave and Catalina.

I've attached if you want to test on your system. Let me know if it works for you...

I've got this working on my 5,1, although the same issues foojitsu1 describes here are happening. I'm on High Sierra, and I end up having to do the 2x boot. Does anyone have progress on getting past the 2x boot, or hotplugging?

The other issue I'm running into is with daisy-chaining Apollo interfaces. I have an 8 and a 16 that I run together. The machine will recognize either of them when plugged in individually. Startup freezes 2/3 of the way through the loading bar if both Apollos are connected, or freezes if I try to do something dumb like hotplugging.

Is this something I need to modify or create an additional SSDT for?
 
Comment

markpaterson

macrumors newbie
Oct 20, 2014
18
5
That is the USB Controller of the GC-TITAN RIDGE. There should be a separate USB Bus for the LG Display. It won't work unless you get PCIe tunnelling to work. Try a warm boot?

I mean use a USB-C (male) to USB-A (female) adapter to connect a mouse to each Thunderbolt port to make sure your USB 2.0 header connection is working.

The USB section of System Information.app shows what the connection speeds are. Also, you can use IORegistryExplorer.app to view what USB bus the iPad Pro is connected to (Titan Ridge USB 3.0, or your Mac Pro USB 2.0).
Code:
ioreg -ilfw0 > ioreg.txt
system_profiler SPUSBDataType  > system_profiler_usb.txt

Titan Ridge should support USB 3.0 out of the box (but you're using a flashed version which may have different behavior - I think there was mention of XHCI problems with the custom firmware that still need to be worked out?).

Strange. Is it connected with USB 3.x (which you say doesn't work with the USB-C hub) or USB 2.0 (which you say haven't tested successfully yet)?

If you're using a custom firmware Titan Ridge, then you probably need the SSDT stuff that requires Open Core to inject.

I checked with the system_profiler command you posted and confirmed that the Titan Ridge iPad Pro USB C connection is only USB 2.0. Or at least, the iPad Pro is only connecting at USB 2.0.

The hard drive error issues where when the drive is connected directly to the Titan Ridge Thunderbolt/USB C port. When I connect the same drive to my USB C hub via the hub's USB 2.0 port there is no error. The drive doesn't even show up when I connect it to the USB 3.0 port on the hub. As I said, I don't really care about this as I have no use for it but I just wanted to answer your questions in a little more detail.

I've just installed this flavor of OpenCore, for the Titan Ridge which allows for Thunderbolt hot plugging (I then blessed the EFI in recovery mode, unplugged for 15 seconds, etc). I think it installed correctly because I see the terminal text overlaid during boot. I was hoping that this would fix the LG brightness control, enable webcam, etc, but it did not.

I then removed that version of OpenCore and installed version 0.5.6 from here, which at least gives me hardware h264/HEVC encoding and decoding. I see an option for 'VideoToolbox' in Handbrake now, and playing back high bitrate 4K HEVC files (~100Mb/s) no longer stutter in Quicklook or Quicktime. So I suppose it wasn't a complete waste of time haha!

But in terms of LG brightness control, I guess I'm out of options at this point :(
 
Last edited:
Comment

gastod

macrumors newbie
Oct 26, 2013
23
2
to whom it may concern... and to whom undestand it.....on first boot no Apollo but ok titan ridge and attached usb c hub with ssd... on warm restart ok all but but with this report from apollo uad .... what happens?
 

Attachments

  • report tb3.txt
    12.9 KB · Views: 111
Last edited:
Comment

Ludacrisvp

macrumors 6502a
May 14, 2008
762
329
Take this info with a grain of salt as this is my experience with the xserve 3,1 (arguably identical to cMP4,1/5,1)

FYI regarding compatibility issue with an alternate OS:
- it would seem the [flashed/jumpered] GC titan ridge thunderbolt card causes panic (even with nothing connected to it) when attempting to boot the Ubuntu live 18.04 linux USB. Not sure if a non-flashed card or a non-jumpered card would cause this panic (NMI timeout). This would happen both with and without OpenCore booting the system.

I have the card in slot 1 and had adjusted the SSDT to match slot 1 but it never seemed to work, so I went with modifying the DSDT directly to add the info that was supposed to be injected via SSDT directly to the DSDT, which did work.

Just some notes taken during my testing....

Worst case it is an expensive USB-C 3.1 controller
-- out of the box it does nothing -- however didn't check IOReg / attempt boot with something attached.
jump pins 3+5 on TB header and the USB 3.1 bus shows up
dell TB dock does nothing
USB-C dock works, shows drive+LAN at least
USB-C hot plug seems to work fine (but it was connected at cold boot initially)
8086,15eb appears to be TB controller
8086,15ec appears to be USB-C controller
USB-C connected to powered dell dock cold boot gets USB3 drive mounted but not visible in USB section in HS
USB-C hot plug works without being connected at cold boot as well -- did not test USB2 devices.
as expected none of these things are seen by OpenCore (perhaps they will with the USB driver??) or the apple EFI
sleep works fine, nags about unsafe drive disconnect though

flashed firmware ... using flashrom and an older ch341a that actually runs at 3.3v without mods (multimeter showed no 5v anywhere).

Dell thunderbolt dock detected (externally powered) hot connect
No USB-C through dock
3 network devices appear -- Thunderbolt 1 + 2 + bridge -- link light on dock NIC but no function.
SSDT injection appears to not do anything still.

rebooting with dock and USB-C connected

both NICs work, USB-C works USB-A3 works
USB2 on TB Dock works, USB2 on USB-C dock does not work
front headphone/mic jack works on TB dock rear jack does not
USB-C dock connected to TB dock doesn't function (too much power consumption warning)


Sleep is broken when Dell TB Dock is connected ... mad fans for a moment at sleep, machine wakes but doesn't turn on display and attempts to go back to sleep, again partially wakes ... cycle continues.
brief check after full wake showed devices missing from system profiler USB (didn't check TB) USB3 drive connected to TB dock didn't reconnect.

Sleep issue with TB dock persists after using DSDT injection to get the card detected properly.
 
Comment

DSM2.Hackintosh

macrumors member
Feb 19, 2020
91
273
I hear the first time something about not working passthrough and some of my people use it with an LG 5K UltraFine Display.
 
Comment

agrawalsujit

macrumors newbie
Feb 29, 2020
8
0
I hear the first time something about not working passthrough and some of my people use it with an LG 5K UltraFine Display.
Hope you feel better man! I used your previous firmware and I am able to see the card in 5,1 but not able to mount the thunderbolt 3 drives. Although I am able to mount the drive using USB 3.1

Any thoughts?
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.