tethering in Windows (USB)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by FortWorthMac, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. FortWorthMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #1
    Okay I downloaded the a fore mentioned tethering hack for the iPhone into the iPhone. I've been able to successfully tether on my iMac desktop via BT but I'm having trouble getting it to work on my Vista laptop.

    Upon plugging it in via USB where do I go next?

    Also, has anyone been able to tether in Vista via BT? for some reason Vista is wanting a device driver and it can't find it.

    My iPhone is a 3G

    Also, upon installing the hack and resetting the carrier settings, I still cannot get my visual voicemail back. Any thing else I could be missing there?



    Thanks for any advice,
    David
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Restart computer.
    Then go to network, the iphone 3G connection should be there for you to enable.
    Try going to voicemail and let it dial in for a few times.
    Then it should load automaticly.
     
  3. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #3

    Hmmm. Still nothing.

    I've rebooted both the phone and the laptop but still not seeing a connection? Do I need to setup an AdHoc network like PdaNet, or I'm I over thinking this?

    Thanks
    David
     
  4. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #4
    you need the newest version of itunes.. it will install the driver needed. When your phone is plugged in and set to tether windows will automatically recognize it and set up the internet connection.
     
  5. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #5
    Thanks. I do not have iTunes on the laptop. I'll download, install and give it a try.

    Thanks
    David
     
  6. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    I'm 99% sure that's the problem. I didn't have the newest iTunes installed on my windows box, and I couldn't for the life of me find out how to tether over USB. After installing the newest iTunes, it was plug and play :) hope this works!
     
  7. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #7

    Another question whilst downloading. Does it also install the needed BT driver?
     
  8. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #8
    I'm not sure about BT, i haven't tried tethering with Windows + BT. I would assume it does however...
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Thats why it wasnt working on my Windows 7 partition but it did on the XP version with the same computer :D
    Makes sense.
    I didnt have Itunes on that one.


     
  10. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #10
    Okay thanks all.......

    I've got the USB tethering working on my Vista laptop. Installing iTunes (twice) did the trick.

    BT is still not working however. Vista keeps looking for a device driver of some such. Strange. As quirky as Vista is, that's one issue I've never had, drivers. Not that I've had a lot of time with Vista.

    My VM however is still not working either though. I've dialed in several times and had my wife leave me numerous messages. Still nothing. I guess at the very least I'll see the missed calls and I can manually check. Strange indeed.

    David
     
  11. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #11
    I don't know what to tell you about Bluetooth, but i'm glad the USB tethering worked!

    As for Voicemail, in settings > general > network > cellular data, try changing the Voicemail setting from "wap.cingular" to "acds.voicemail" (you might need to reboot or not, can't remember) that should do the trick.



    IF that doesn't work for you change it "wap.cingular" with the username wap@cingularprs.com and password CINGULAR1... that might work.
     
  12. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #12
    Thanks for the above tips, but I've yet to Jailbreak/unlock since the 3.0 roll out so I don't have the option of making those changes. DOH!!
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Can you go into cellular data?
    Go to the bottom and reset settings
     
  14. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #14
    you don't need to jailbreak to enable those settings.. you just need the AT&T 5.0 carrier files.. although i only know how to load them on your phone from a mac..

    In terminal on a mac run this command
    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.iTunes carrier-testing -bool TRUE
    This will allow your current version of itunes to install carrier settings.

    Now you need to find (google) the AT&T carrier 5.0 settings.. it will be a file called ATT_US.ipcc.

    In itunes with your phone plugged in, option+click restore and find the IPCC file and select it.

    that takes about 5 minutes, and you will have the cellular data button in your settings!
     
  15. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #15
    Nope, evidently without being unlocked(?) or jailbroken, I'm not sure if it's an either or, one cannot go that far.

    I can of course get into Settings, General, and Network but thats it. I do not have cellular in there.

    Now, I can go into Settings, General, Reset and "reset network settings". I've done that but that didn't fix the issue.

    In fact, this was the recommended "fix" on both the video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sc1-IgE7lbg and the help file for the "hack".
     
  16. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #16
    The directions i posted will enable that menu, and if you need the Carrier Settings file that i'm using i can PM it to you..
     
  17. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #17
    Got it, thanks. Guess I know what I'll be doing tomorrow.
     
  18. FortWorthMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #18
    Yes, if you don't mid PM the file or I can PM you my email address.

    Thanks
    David
     
  19. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #19
    sent :).. if anyone else needs this let me know!
     

Share This Page