Tethering LG Shine to MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by swiggzter, May 21, 2009.

  1. swiggzter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #1
    Does anybody know a way of tethering an LG Shine to a Macbook Pro? They both have Bluetooth and I just know there has to be a way to do it. I am completely lost on finding anything on the internet :confused:
     
  2. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

    mikes70mustang

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    US
  3. swiggzter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #3
    Hahaha, yes. I know string and duct tape works very well. ;)
     
  4. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

    mikes70mustang

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #4
    i dont know specs, but i think BT is not very fast. You usually want to use a cable. Ive never got the bluetooth internet to work for any phone ive had. But i know you have to hook the mpb to the phone just as you would do with a BT ear piece. Then you have to dial out some how. I would be able to tell you if i ever got it to work. Most stuff like that i just mess with it until i figure it out. FYI-the wireless from a phone or air card is limited to 1.5 mbs i think, which is pretty slow
     
  5. jck1634 macrumors regular

    jck1634

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
  6. swiggzter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #6
    Trying it now. Doesn't really work for tethering, just some hands-free stuff. Kinda cool, but it still needs tethering haha.
     
  7. ///M5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    #7
    Sell it, get an iPhone, install 3.0 Beta, and you're all set. :)
     
  8. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

    mikes70mustang

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #8
    Or get a better phone and use the teather option, a useful phone, like a blackberry:D
     
  9. triviasue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #9
    I just paired my LG CU720 (Shine) to my Macbook using the advice at http://pukupi.com/post/2061/ with the softbank username and password on that webpage for the settings in my Network Preferences. :)
     

Share This Page