Tethering my Rebel XT

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MattG, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #1
    What's the easiest way to do the following...some of you may remember the other day I was asking about lighting for portrait photos. I have another question for the same event. I want to be able to hook my MBP up to my camera, and have it download the pictures live, as I'm taking them, so they can be displayed nice and big for the faculty to look at as I take them. I know it can be done, I've seen it before.

    Canon has an "EOS Capture" program but based of everything I've read, it's incompatible with Leopard. Anyone know of an alternative I can use? I tried a demo of Lightroom but couldn't seem to do it in there, couldn't do it in iPhoto, couldn't do it in Photoshop.
     
  2. khoat1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #2
    I've read that the EOS Capture 1.5 works fine in Leopard. I think DPP has issues with Leopard. I would test it out prior to your shoot.

    If it doesn't work right, you can always boot to Windows if you had to just for the live capture.
     
  3. MattG thread starter macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #3
    I'll try again; what happens is I double click on it to open it, it flashes in the dock for a second, then closes back down without any error message or anything.
     
  4. d3h872 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Location:
    Tri-Cities, Washington
    #4
    Same thing happens to me...

    Same thing -- I open the app and it indicates that it's trying to open, then it dies without notice. I've tried re-installing (including removing all dependent files) to no avail.
     
  5. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #5
    Canon seems to have updated the program, as I just got an XTi and the program used to tether the camera is now called EOS Utility (version 2.0) and it works great in Leopard.

    Is it possible for you to download the new version from the Canon site? More importantly, does the XT work with the new software?
     
  6. d3h872 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Location:
    Tri-Cities, Washington
    #6
    I've downloaded the software and will try it soon. Canon's download pages are terribly confusing (to me, at least). So hopefully I've downloaded what I need.

    - Ryan
     
  7. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    Leopard's Image Capture now has a button "Take a PIcture". Click it while your camera is connected by a USB cable and it will trip the camera's shutter and download the image. It is primitive. There is no preview and you can not control the camera's setting. All you can do is trip the shutter But you asked "What's the easiest way.." and Image Capture is it.
     
  8. scotthayes macrumors 68000

    scotthayes

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    #8
    I've got a MBP, Leopard and a 400d (XTi) and it works fine with the EOS utility Ver 1.1
     

Share This Page