iPhone TetherMe Hotspot Resolving Host

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Jumpie, Feb 11, 2015.

  1. Jumpie macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    I can't find the answer to this. I have TetherMe and I'm on VZW UDP. (I don't want to hear about the legalities or morality of using of using TetherMe.)

    When I fire up personal hotspot, my MBP finds it and connects. After about 5 minutes when I go to a webpage, I see "resolving host" in the bottom. I have to turn it off and back on and then it's uninterrupted.

    Anyone else have this issue? What causes it? I don't have an issue using 2GB or 40GB tethering. For the record, I'm on VZW if that matters.
     
  2. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #2

    I have used my 5S to tetherme a laptop with windows and haven't seen that error. I also tether to my iPad and use 30 plus gigs with no issues. I to have VZW UDP. They don't care if you are tethering with tether me. Been using it for years.

    ----------


    Do you have keep broadcasting toggled on? I do.
     
  3. Jumpie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    No, I don't have that set let alone know where it is. ha

    But, I'd prefer not to keep broadcasting since it'd drain my battery, no?
     
  4. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #4

    No it only stays on when the personal hotspot is toggled on. If left at idle too long it will stop broadcasting a signal which could cause connection errors.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Jumpie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    Hmm, I don't have that option using TetherMe.
     
  6. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #6

    Post a screen shot of the settings for tetherme. It's in the settings app towards the bottom where the tweaks are listed.
     
  7. Jumpie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    oooohhhh....it's there. that's not where I was looking. it's there.
     

Share This Page