Text forwarding not working on 10.3.3 beta

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by dsr2, Jul 8, 2017.

  1. dsr2 macrumors regular

    dsr2

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    #1
    I have run into a strange issue and a search of these forums hasn't helped. Rolled back from iOS 11 beta to 10.3.3 on both my iPhone 7 and iPad Pro (10.5). Now, I cannot get the code to have all messages forwarded and appear on my iPad. I have tried every combination I could find on the net to resolve this but nothing works. I simply cann't get a code on my iPad to put into my phone. Could this have something to do with two factor authentication?

    I consider myself pretty tech savvy but I am at a total loss.

    Anyone run into this issue and able to resolve it? I know it's kinda a first world issue, but I have actually come to rely on it to not have to have my phone on me all the time.

    Any help welcome and would be eternally grateful.
     
  2. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
  3. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #3
    Any luck with this? I downgraded back to 10.3.2 and I still can't get the code to pop up.
     
  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #4
    No issues with my iPhone and iPad on 10.3.3 and my Macs on 10.12.5. I have not gotten the code in months now when enabling SMS forwarding on a new device. Same with enabling WiFi calling. Whenever I flip the toggle, it just works.
     
  5. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #5
    Do you have two factor authentication turned on?
     
  6. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #6
    Yes, have had it turned on for about a year now.
     
  7. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #7
    Thats why you dont get a code
     
  8. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #8
    I stopped getting the code long after I had 2FA enabled. Codes stopped around February or March, but 2FA was enabled before I got my 7Plus.
     
  9. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #9
    Apple needs to figure this out man. I dont get the code on my work and personal mac's. They are on diff WIFI networks and my phone is back on 10.3.2, one mac is on beta 10.12.6 while the other one is on 10.12.5. I cant figure it out. I've tried everything from logging out to changing the icloud password to rebooting to resetting settings on my iphone
     
  10. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #10
    But do you need the code? Are you saying that without the code, you are not getting SMS messages to forward?
     
  11. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #11
    exactly, im not using 2FA so I know for a fact I need the code
     
  12. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #12
    That didn't really answer my question. Have you verified SMS forwarding is not working, just by toggling it on and not doing anything about a code.
     
  13. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #13
    when I toggle it on a box appears on my iphone requesting the code, I either enter it in or hit cancel
     
  14. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #14
    Have you tried enabling 2FA, activating SMS forwarding, then disabling 2FA? I'm fairly certain 2FA is going to be required with iOS 11/macOS 10.13, based on how so many features require it.
     
  15. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #15
    Yeah I don't wanna do that man. It should work without doing that ya know?
     
  16. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #16
    Well in all fairness you upgraded to 11 and then back to 10.3.3, right? So maybe when you upgraded to iOS 11 it changed things with your AppleID.
     
  17. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #17
    No I didn't upgrade to iOS 11. 10.3.3 only
     
  18. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #18
    Oh okay. You said same to OP so I figured your situation was the same. Maybe 10.3.3 has underlying code that requires 2FA and because it has to been publicly released yet, it hasn't been announced.
     
  19. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #19
    Yeah im thinking the same thing, nothing else would explain what is happening man
     
  20. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #20
    Thats weird though, still doesn't explain why my codes stopped in Feb/March and 2FA has been on for about a year.
     
  21. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #21
    It's def Apple server side man. This doesn't make any sense. I've opened a ticket with them but nothing happened with it
     
  22. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #22
    Have you called them or chatted with them? Typically you can get to the engineers faster than just a report.
     
  23. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #23
    Yes I called them and we troubleshooted a bunch of generic crap and then they told me to try setting it up on another WIFI network and thats when I just gave up, im sick of the grandma answers that they give you to do. I am a network admin there is nothing wrong with my home network
     
  24. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #24
    Okay that is annoying as hell and really frustrating. Did they even both transferring you to T2?
     
  25. atlchamp macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #25
    They did and I was going back n forth with a guy who was in contact with the engineers and when they told me to try another network i just gave up. It's BS, I dont even think they know whats going on.
     

Share This Page