Phones Textra app shwoing " New message " why ?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Tig Bitties, Nov 24, 2015.

  1. Tig Bitties macrumors 68030

    Tig Bitties

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #1
    I have a T-Mobile Note 5, and use the Textra app for texts, and it has been 100% bulletproof damn near perfect for me. Way better than the stock Samsung Messages, and even better than Google Messenger for myself.

    Anyways today my two Brothers are complaining that each group text I send them, displays "New Message" as a title to each of my texts, and then shows my actual text itself after that "New Message" thing.

    What could be causing that ? They said it just started happening. I did install a new ROM over the weekend, but I have had that installed for two days now, and the ROM itself Darthstalker v6 has been PERFECT :) But only as of this morning did they say this "New Message" thing started happening.
     
  2. Tig Bitties thread starter macrumors 68030

    Tig Bitties

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    #2
    UPDATE:

    My wife also has a T-Mobile Note 5, just running a stock ROM, and she uses Google Messenger, and that is also showing " New Message " in the title of each text she sends to others. But not to me, I don't see that from her at all, and she doesn't see that from me either. But others are seeing it when I text or she sends a text. But not everyone. I text 4 of my coworkers, and only 1 saw the " New message " thing, the other three did not. The one who saw it is on ATT, the other three are on Sprint, if that matters ?

    So...is this a T-Mobile thing maybe ?
     
  3. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #3
    Something similar happened to me today. Two of the participants of a group message have an iPhone, and their messages start out with "New Message" and then onto the actual message. Participants using Android have normal looking messages. I'm using Google messenger (Nexus 6) on ATT.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    Well, there is an option for 'Show Subject Field' option in iMessage. Any chance they have this setting turned on and that's causing it?

    image.png
     
  5. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #5
    Could be the case - weird thing is it just started today. Is this a setting that could have been toggled/reset via an update to iOS?
     
  6. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    Don't think so...it's been an option for quite a while now, at least a few years I believe.
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #7
    Freaky .... Nothing else to add but yeah that's weird
     

Share This Page