Textwrangler has suddenly refused to launch

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mikeyb99, Feb 17, 2016.

1. mikeyb99 macrumors newbie

I've been using Textwrangler for two years now from the time I bought my Mac, on Mavericks, Yosemite and now El Capitan. A couple of days ago it suddenly wouldnt launch - nothing happens, no error message.

Looking in the system logs I can see the following:

17/02/2016 12:00:44.000 pm kernel[0]: proc 3709: load code signature error 4 for file "TextWrangler"
    17/02/2016 12:00:44.305 pm amfid[103]: /Applications/TextWrangler.app/Contents/MacOS/TextWrangler signature not valid: 0xfffefa2a
    17/02/2016 12:00:44.322 pm taskgated[332]: killed com.barebones.textwrangler[pid 3709] because its use of the com.apple.developer.team-identifier entitlement is not allowed (error code -67063)
    17/02/2016 12:00:44.322 pm com.apple.xpc.launchd[1]: (com.barebones.textwrangler.6432[3709]) Service exited due to signal: Killed: 9

So, it would seem that overnight the app has suddenly become untrustworthy, if I read the messages right! There has been no update to the app and no updates to OSX during this period. Has anyone else had a similar problem with an app?

2. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch

3. mikeyb99 thread starter macrumors newbie

4. Partron22 macrumors 68000

Partron22

5. Alrescha macrumors 68020

Why would you go hunt down some web site when it is right there in the Mac App store?

A.

:)

6. posguy99 macrumors 6502

Because TextWrangler in the MAS makes compromises vs sandboxing? TW's big brother BBEdit isn't even IN the MAS any more because of this.

Also, @Alrescha, to avoid the software being killed by Apple in the first place?

IMO, the only things you should get from the MAS are things you can ONLY get from the MAS.

7. Alrescha macrumors 68020