TF2, Macbook Pro, and Crossover

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Aranince, Dec 13, 2008.

  1. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Hey guys, I was wondering how well TF2 runs through crossover and a Late 2008 Macbook Pro. Codeweaver's site indicates it runs very well through crossover, but I want to know how well it runs on my hardware.

    TF2 is 50% off this weekend on steam, $9.99 from $19.99
     
  2. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    I have TF2 for my 2.2 GHZ C2D mbp santa rosa nvida 8600m gt 128mb vram... and it runs perfectly. No issues at all. In fact, every steam game I have runs very well on my mbp, so, you should be fine.

    Not too sure about crossover, but you can take codeweavers word for it ;)
     
  3. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    It might run fine, I haven't tried Crossover for about a year but you might have to limit the graphics options somewhat in Crossover. But it'll be hella fast in Bootcamp, it even flies on my MB under XP.
     
  4. Aranince thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I currently run CS:S under crossover and it runs fine at full settings minus HDR and AA(running in windowed mode). But I know that TF2 uses a newer engine that requires more juice than CS:S. I've seen videos on youtube of MBP running TF2 and it seems to run fine.
     
  5. eleven2brett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Location:
    H-Town
    #5
    I'm kinda curious to know about others' experience with this a well.
     
  6. pdechavez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #6

    I play with all settings on high and wen the action get serious, 15 players red 15 players blu, and all explosions, i get a 30fps average..so it runs very well!
     
  7. eleven2brett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Location:
    H-Town
    #7
    Thats cool, I may have to try it out myself. Thanks!
     
  8. jgrrr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #8
    Are you guys who are running TF2 using "Crossover" or "Crossover Games"?

    I'm installing TF2 and L4D using the trial of Crossover right now, and I'm wondering if Crossover Games would be better for this purpose (although I plan on running some other Windows applications that may not work with Crossover Games).

    Could not find any differences besides the title on the Codeweavers website.
     
  9. comictimes macrumors 6502a

    comictimes

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Berkeley, California
    #9
    Yea I definitely took advantage of that deal, and very glad I did. Although them doing it the weekend before finals was certainly not kind :rolleyes:

    It runs perfectly on my Macbook Pro, although I'm using Bootcamp, not Crossover. But if CS:S works fine then I'd bet that TF2 does as well, even with the updated graphics engine.
     

Share This Page