The 27" iMac CPU is socketed

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 300D, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #1
    So, does it make any sense to get the i5 and throw in a faster i7 than Apple offers?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Someone already has an LGA-1156 based iMac?
     
  3. 300D thread starter macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #3
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
  5. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    I wonder if apple changed the thermal layout between the i5 and the i7, if so it'll be more of a hassle andmight not even be feasible to replace the i5 with the i7 down the road.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Minor update...

    It looks like the 27" iMac is using an LGA 775 based E7600 with 3 MB of L2 cache. That would explain a lot. Welcome to 2007 hardware Apple. :rolleyes:

    Quad core is possible but who knows what the firmware will support.
     
  7. Rudy69 macrumors 6502a

    Rudy69

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #7
    I really doubt most people are buying an iMac to rip it open and replace the CPU

    Some people will do it but they are a VERY small percentage
     

Share This Page