The best external Retina display yet?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by forlong, Nov 15, 2014.

1. forlong macrumors newbie

Now that I've had a Retina screen for more than a year, I don't want to buy a desktop computer with a standard DPI display. I've browsed the Web and haven't found an equivalent to those gorgeous rMBP displays. Screens are either too big to get a 200+ DPI or have major flaws (search "Dell UP1424Q wake from sleep" on Google). My searches therefore led me to hacks such as these:

http://www.adafruit.com/product/1652
    http://dp2mbpr.rozsnyo.com/

The first one is small, sure, but I've been using a 13" laptop for three years and even thought of switching to an iPad with an external keyboard, so it could be a temporary solution while manufacturers get something good out there. I could also have two of those. The second one would be great, I'd just need to mount it on some stand. The technician behind this tells me it wouldn't a good solution for a primary monitor, I can't see why not?

My only concern is with DisplayPort. All Retina-like displays out there that use this port seem to have trouble waking from sleep. Would this also be the case with those screens? Somebody experimented this? You think it looks like a good idea?

2. edanuff macrumors 6502