The Black Screen (Of Death)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tom Foolery, Dec 22, 2007.

  1. Tom Foolery macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #1
    every once in a while i'm working on my mbp and suddenly the computer gets really slow and the internet connection gets really bad the all of a sudden a dark screen pans down from the top of the display and then tells me in several languages that i need to hold the power button and restart my computer

    does anybody know what i am talking about or have anything similar going on

    i called apple about this a couple weeks ago and the told me to reinstall leopard, it fixed the problem for a couple weeks but now it's back

    any help or sudjestions would be great

    thanks
     
  2. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #2
    That my friend is called a kernel panic. Standard procedure: repair disk permissions (disk utility), reset PSU (remove all power and hold down power button for 10 sec), reset PRAM (opt+cmd+p+r right after computer turns on, before chime). Archive and install one last time if problem persists, then call Apple back.
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
  4. Tom Foolery thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  5. rhyndu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #5
    As recommended above, I'd reset PRAM and do a Disk Utility check/repair. What 3rd Party apps are you running (are you running anything that modifies system files?)
     
  6. Tom Foolery thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    no i don't think i am, i have noticed that many times i have been running azeurus whe the screen apears but i don't think that it it the cause
     
  7. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #7
    Are you actually reading the posts? You seem to have missed the first post regarding resetting PRAM, it has been brought up again aswell as repairing Disk Permissions.

    Give that a try why don't you.
     
  8. iMan G5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #8
    http://transmission.m0k.org/
     
  9. rhyndu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #9
    Its hard to help someone who doesn't follow tips that people give him :D

    Azeurus might be the cause. Try uninstalling it and see if you get any more KPs.
     
  10. rhyndu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #10
    Av... is the cause: From a simple search, I found this:

    Do you have a C2D MacbookPro with Leopard? If so, uninstall Azureus NOW!
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Interesting, I have Azureus and 802.11n and I can't recall ever getting a kernel panic on this system.
     
  12. Tom Foolery thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #12
    what's c2d and by the way i have followed those steps and i haven't had the problem reoccur since even though it does only happen once in a while, and i was only throwing it out there about azereus to see if anybody else has had the same problem (smart a*s)
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    C2D = Core 2 Duo, which you most likely have unless you have one of the first MBPs.
     
  14. Tom Foolery thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #14
    in that case i do have a C2D, but before i uninstall azureus, what is the reason that it isn't good, i'm happy with it so far
     
  15. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #15
    Not as light-weight as Transmission. Transmission runs silently in the background, has a sexy GUI and is very stable (generally anyway - but they are fast at fixing bugs, good dev team).
     
  16. Tom Foolery thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #16
    ok and that's a good insentive to switch but is there any reason why i shouldn't run azureus other than it takes resources, and provided i do switch is there any way for me to switch my downloads over to transmission
     
  17. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #17
    If you are going to switch torrent program, I'd wait till your current downloads are done then start fresh downloads on Transmission.
     

Share This Page