The built-in dictionary doesn't work!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by appleobsessed, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. appleobsessed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #1
    It works in the widget mode, that is, when I press F3, the dictionary shows on the screen as usual, but it doesn't show up when I click on the dictionary icon under the applications menu. Help me out please!
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    Help me out please!

    What are you referring to there? Perhaps it's a misunderstanding of terminology, but where are you when you see this?

    Also, what OS do you have? That can make a big difference. It amazes me that so many people don't understand this. You're not the only one omitting that info. I've seen a dozen or so today.
     
  3. appleobsessed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #3
    I am under Macintosh HD>Applications. When I click Dictionary, it doesn't pop up and it's driving me crazy.

    I have MAC OSX 10.5.8 by the way.
     
  4. martynmc7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #4
    You are double-clicking it right ; )
     
  5. appleobsessed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #5
    Yes I am double-clicking it.
     
  6. martynmc7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #6
  7. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    Ok, so do I. Apologies if you think this is too picky, but here's the reason for my initial uncertainty...

    The underline I added above highlights the terminology question. I didn't understand "applications menu". The Menu is the bar at the top of the screen. After the second quote, I understand you to mean the Applications Folder. And, the bold highlight I added is actually quite close to the most common way to indicate that. Most magazines, etc. will indicate the path to a folder with / as separator. Ironically, they use > as a Menu item separator.

    Now, back to your problem with Dictionary...
    By default, Dictionary was loaded in my Dock. Do you have a Dictionary icon in your Dock as well? If so, does it also fail to open Dictionary?
     
  8. appleobsessed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #8
    I see, so the path should be Macintosh HD/Applications/Dictionary instead of Macintosh HD>Applications>Dictionary, right?

    And yes, I do have a Dictionary icon in my dock but it doesn't pop up neither when I double-click it. Also, for some reason, my Dictionary icon is not a red book, rather, it's showed as two pieces of paper with a ruler, a pencil, and a painting brush. If it helps, my Dictionary icon/logo looks somewhat like the third one in the first row in the picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    I think I see where using > to denote directories comes from though, if you're looking at the app in the Finder with column view, it has the arrow next to folders.

    That's the generic app icon.

    [​IMG]

    Sounds like your Dictionary.app got damaged somehow. You might be able to re-install it from your OS X discs, using Pacifist to look through the installer packages to find it, or maybe there's a simpler way... never had to do that myself.
     
  10. appleobsessed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #10
    Thank you so much.
    I think my problem is similar to the one of the second link. I am still figuring how to use Pacifist to reinstall the application.
     
  11. appleobsessed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #11
    Yeah using Pacifist to reinstall Dictionary seems like the only option right now. By googling, I found some helpful information about how to use Pacifist to fix the application but I am so afraid that I will ruin my Macbook if I do something wrong.

    If anyone is interested, here is the link:
    http://www.macworld.com/article/132243/2008/02/pacifist.html
     
  12. appleobsessed thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #12
    Thanks everyone for replying. I reinstall the Dictionary by using Pacifist.
    I did it according to the instructions from the website I posted above and my dictionary.app runs perfectly now.
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    By the way, if you're opening an app from the Dock or from the Applications folder on the Dock, you don't double-click it; you single-click it. You only double-click to launch an app from the Applications folder in Finder.
     
  14. martynmc7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #14
    True, but we were talking about the Application folder, and it wouldn't make a difference if you double-click the Dock as the second click falls as the app starts to bounce and wouldn't be registered.
     
  15. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #15
    Great! And yes, the path you typed with the / separator is the commonly accepted standard for a folder hierarchy.
     

Share This Page