OS X The Bureau: XCOM Declassified for Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Dirtyharry50, Dec 1, 2013.

  1. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #1
    Has anyone tried this yet? It looks like a decent game to me but it is not a Mac native app. It was ported with Cider. It's on the App Store but the very little feedback so far is all over the place from it runs fine to it crashes.
     
  2. TheGreatWumpus macrumors regular

    TheGreatWumpus

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Vermont
    #2
    Quick summary of this game: Not bad, but not great. Worth it for XCOM fans (even if not related to the strategy title, seeing a version of the XCOM universe in 3rd person is a lot of fun.) NOT worth it if you are just a shooter fan and not an XCOM fan.

    I made 3 videos of the first hour of the game along with my comments for anyone interested in viewing gameplay etc: http://bit.ly/1jCE3Rv
     
  3. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #3
    How is the game from a technical standpoint on OS X? Any issues with display, performance, stability, etc.?
     
  4. Sekelani macrumors 6502

    Sekelani

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    #4
    The Bureau: XCOM Declassified for Mac

    I have the 2011 macbook pro with these specs :

    Intel HD Graphics 3000 graphics processor that shares 384 MB of memory
    MacBook Pro "Core i5" 2.4 13-Inch (Late 2011)
    4gig ram
    Will xcom beau play on it? I want it so bad
     
  5. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #5
    No, you need a dedicated graphics card.
     
  6. Sekelani macrumors 6502

    Sekelani

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
  7. Sekelani macrumors 6502

    Sekelani

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    #7
    [​IMG]im thinking about getting this macbook, would xcom beau play on it?
     
  8. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #8
    Yes, but not at the retina resolution.
     
  9. TheGreatWumpus macrumors regular

    TheGreatWumpus

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Vermont
    #9
    The only issue I had so far was some fps drop in certain areas randomly. Oddly this occurred *outside* combat so I had to lower some settings. That being said my graphics card is 3 years old, and the "recommended" specs are slightly above my current machine. Although these drops occurred after I was playing at max settings for awhile, so not sure what it was. I haven't had it crash or bug out in anyway so far. Everything went well after I turned down the settings a bit.
     
  10. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #10
    Thanks very much for getting back to me on that. I'm glad to hear it is stable after some comments I saw on the App Store. Of course, one reads those never knowing what sort of configuration the user was playing on or what impact that could have had in causing issues.

    I think I am going to pick this up at some point after the holidays. It looks fun.
     
  11. Sekelani macrumors 6502

    Sekelani

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    #11
    So the iris graphic card is good?
     
  12. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #12

Share This Page