The dreaded now or wait? Anxiety.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by imanidiot, Oct 2, 2014.

1. imanidiot Suspended

Thinking about ordering a new 21.5 iMac to replace my mid-2010 iMac. My current machine still performs well, but it is 4+ years old, and I anticipate problems with the HDD. After listening to opinions on the likelihood of a meaningful iMac refresh this year, I'm thinking just do it. I don't find the possibility of a Retna or 4k display to be a compelling reason to wait. And in the meantime, I don't think that a minor speed boost compelling either. The consensus of opinion seems to be that nothing major will happen before next year, so I'm thinking of going refurb with fusion drive now. I currently have 8g memory, and I'm hoping that's enough in the future (BTW, my needs are pretty basic, email, browsing, occasional messing around with iMove, creating documents in Pages; I'm a writer so most of my important usage is creating text documents). Am I gong to wake up tomorrow morning (next apple event) hating myself for not waiting? Again, my current machine seems to be doing all right, but it's 4 years old, and I get the spinning beach ball more that I used to, and the entire experience seems subjectively slower than one upon a time.

Thanks.

----------

I know that this topic has been beaten to death, and I apologize if I'm wasting your time. But I saw a likely candidate in the refurb store today....

2. wannabepcuser, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2014

wannabepcuser macrumors member

The dreaded now or wait? Anxiety.

From my days running Windows, a reinstall of the operating system on a yearly basis was a necessity.

Perhaps you could think about a reinstall.

3. mad3inch1na macrumors 6502a

That sounds pretty typical of an HDD bottleneck. I would recommend upgrading the HDD to a 256GB SSD for about 100$. Buy a USB 3.0 external drive for your HDD.