The f...... FN key

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ramphex, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. Ramphex macrumors 6502

    Ramphex

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    USA/PA
    #1
    Is there a program to swap the functionary of the god damn useless ass FN key on the macbook in windows to CTRL key, damn Apple had to be different and put that stupid ass key in the spot of CTRL on any other normal keyboard :mad:
     
  2. pharonyk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #2
    I agree with the post above me... you can't game in windows with the FN key taking the spot of the Control key. It really is difficult to crouch in Counter-Strike and also in real life.

    Help me crouch without injuring my pinky. :mad:
     
  3. Wafflausages macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #3
    hahah i have the exact same problem i keep hitting the god damn fn key! i resorted to plugging a keyboard and mouse for gaming
     
  4. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #4
    That's the solution, buy a external keyboard and you're done... ;)
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    There's a Windows app that can remap keys. It actually updates the registry so it doesn't even use up any memory once you've set it up. That's the good news. The bad news is that I cannot for the life of me think what it's called. But it definitely exists so you should be able to find it if you look :)

    Regarding the physical placement of the key, remember that the primary use of a Mac is not Windows gaming.

    Edit: It's KeyTweak. The instructions say that it may not work for the Fn key on some laptops due to how it works, and I don't know whether that includes Macs or not (I was using it to remap Print Screen to F13 on my full-size keyboard).
     
  6. vbman213 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #6

    The reason for this is because most FN keys operate on a hardware level. Bsaically, It just causes the keys to send higher "keycodes" to the operating system. It remaps the keys on the fly, independent of the operating system.

    So the FN key never has direct communication with the software.
     
  7. fernando.kreutz macrumors member

    fernando.kreutz

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    brazil
    #7
    have u ever heard that fn + right = down an fn + left = home or fn + up = page up and fn + down = page down or fn + delete = real delete (delete key on macs, is actually a backspace)?

    some people miss those keys on keyboards, specially professionals, developers... thats why fn is located where it is, to be easy to use.
     
  8. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #8
    Did you, you know, actually look at the computer you purchased?
     
  9. puma1552 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #9
    the hell does the fn key even do on a mac?

    i assumed that since the f keys do all the other crap like brightness/volume/expose/etc, that something like fn+f5 would do the usual f5 function of refreshing a website but that doesnt seem to do anything...?
     
  10. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #10
    Might help if you tried them first. F8-F12 do specific functions which are labled on the keys themselves. Add the Fn key + the F8-F12 and they change to activate Dashboard, Expose and Spaces. Plus you can remap all F keys in System Preferences.
     
  11. Ramphex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Ramphex

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    USA/PA
    #11
    Sure I have, for some reason all other companies manage to put the FN key in between CTRL and ALT or Space, why does Apple got to be the only different one and put it in the place of CTRL, how much more convenient would it be having CTRL, FN, Option, Command, Space for all those who game and/or use dual boot
     
  12. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #12
    It's the other way around unless you change a preference somewhere.
     
  13. mansanas macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #13
    ya i had to get used to this for sc2 also, good thing i dont really play cs anymore...
     
  14. pharonyk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #14
    If I don't find anything to remap the FN key in windows, I will have surgery to remap my pinky with my ringer finger. Wait a minute, now I'm hitting the A key with my pinky and the FN key with my ring finger. MOTHERF-
     
  15. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #15
    No they don't, have you ever SEEn an IBM/Lenovo?

    I use a PC at work and MacBook at home it has NEVER screwed me up. How about you learn to adapt, it's something people do.
     
  16. puma1552 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #16
    What? More like F1-F12 have specific functions which are labeled on the keys themselves. I was asking about adding the fn keys to those.

    Why would I press fn+f8-f12 to activate expose or spaces when I can just press f3 or f4 as it is to activate those?
     
  17. Ramphex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Ramphex

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    USA/PA
    #17
    It's not a matter of adopting, I don't have any problems doing that seeing that I chose to switch from windows machines to a mac, the thing is that it's straining and uncomfortable for the hand to press the ctrl there
     
  18. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #18
    You weren't aware of this before you bought it? Did you even look at pictures of the computer? One would think that when dropping that much money some research would be done before hand.
     
  19. pharonyk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #19
    All this arguing shows that nobody knows whether there's a program for Windows to swap the FN and Control keys.

    Might as well lock the thread.
     
  20. eng42ine macrumors 68000

    eng42ine

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Running into a burning building...
  21. lewis82 macrumors 68000

    lewis82

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
    #21
    F5 is the standard refresh button on Windows. On macs, it is Cmd-R (as refresh).

    It's the same as alt-F4, which is replaced in OS X by cmd-Q.
     
  22. Ramphex thread starter macrumors 6502

    Ramphex

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    USA/PA
    #22
    different commands, different OS... understandable, why change up the keys on keyboard to **** with people though? Okay, command replaces Windows key, option replaces alt, why **** with FN and CTRL? it should just be in the normal order like any other keyboard, personally pressing the CTRL where it is now vs normal keyboard is straining for hands and has 0 benefit. Like the old saying goes, if it's not broken, don't fix it.
     
  23. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #23
    Gotcha, but to answer your question, well, Apple put them there so why would that not make sense? What makes you think it's easier to have F3 or F4 activate Expose rather than F8-F12? That's personal choice.
     
  24. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #24
    fn+F5 does reload a page .. at least in Firefox.


    It's not so unusual to have a FN like that. Also some PC notebooks have that. As said, get yourself a external keyboard and you'll be happy.
     

Share This Page