The famous blue screen freeze

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Redgonzo84, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. Redgonzo84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #1
    After leaving my iMac desktop running over night while
    My Traktor scratch pro 2 was running a full analyse
    Of my music collection for BPM detection etc
    I woke up to find my mac froze on a lightish blue screen
    I couldn't access anything other than to boot down my iMac ,
    After rebooting I've been stuck on the blue apple loading
    Screen for hours .

    I've tried the power off / power cable out / power button /
    Power cable back in / reboot trick ,
    This didn't work .

    I tried to load using command and V ,

    Running disk utilities / repairs

    Trying at present to boot up in safe mode
    But it keeps going from a blue screen with the apple
    Logo to a black screen with the reboot sound
    Then back to the blue apple logo screen then just seems to get
    Stuck in this loop .

    I've read loads of threads and nothing has helped so far

    I'm getting tired and fed up with apples useless so called
    Support !! I've had the famous black screen of death caused my
    Faulty graphics cards happen to my MacBook pro twice now , and
    Quoted silly prices to fix . After paying the first time
    I refuse to pay again for my MacBook so that sits broken .

    I have a dodgy time machine 2TB thas stuck on orange light
    Which only seems maybe fixable totally whipping it a
    Restoring it losing around 1.2tb of music I would never get back .

    Now I lost 85gb from my first MacBook failure ,
    Then 56gb on my second failure .
    I have around 123gb of
    Music on my iMac which I'm determined not to lose .
    I'm a dj do music is everything to me ad my work .
    This music is the last GB I have left an losing this would
    End my career as we speak .

    I'm at my wits end how to solve my iMac blue screen problem
    After spending over £4000 on apple products as fixes
    I'm done giving apple anymore money .
    There customer support is crap beyond belief .

    I hope someone out there can really help me to solve this
    Problem and not lose faith in apple alltogether
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Do you have access to any other Mac, your own or a friend's one?
    That way, you can do further troubleshooting and even backup your music and other important data, if your Time Capsule (?) is broken.

    And if the music is your paid life, you should look into a better backup strategy.

    For instance, my digital and analog (scanned) photos reside on a 500 GB HDD, my personal video footage resides on another 500 GB HDD.
    Both HDDs get backed up to a 1 TB HDD via CarbonCopyCloner.
    That 1 TB HDD also gets backed up to another 1 TB HDD via CCC.

    And to always have some kind of bootable system, I clone my Mac OS X volumes (in my 2007 iMac on an SSD and in my 2009 MBP on an SSD) to external HDDs, just so I can run Mac OS X in the case something breaks down.
     
  3. Redgonzo84, Jan 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012

    Redgonzo84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #3
    Thank you for a fast reply .
    Yes thankfully I have 1more mac desktop
    Which is the family computer .
    I have 2 broken HD at the moment that have
    Mirrowed back up data on each .
    Time machine was our home main back
    Up and a western digital as my work/music back up
    For gigs etc . Some bird spilt vodka n red bull
    On tht one 2months back and fried it .
    And my time machine had just gone down
    Last week . I haven't looked fully into that one
    At present . It's just a constant orange light .
    It's happend before and I manged to salvage
    Some stuff . Will try that later though .

    My main concern being my iMac . I have a show
    On Monday and without it I'll have to cancel
    My slot : (

    I was hoping for a quickish fix for this without
    Having to restore the whole thing and spending time
    Transferring files back and forth . Time is money
    Ad sadly that's hard come by in the current
    Recess .

    I can access disk utilities through start up
    And my mac HD shows up in the start from page
    Along with start from OS X disk . But when I chose to
    Reboot from HD it just goes into a constant loop
    Of rebooting then blue loads screen back to rebooting an
    Entering a loop again .

    Rekon my HD is knackerd ??

    Edit :-
    Managed to get properly into disk utilities now
    After alot of fiddling about . After running disk repair on my
    HD I get a warning saying invalid node structure
    And back up as much data as possible
    And reformat disk . nightmare sounds like my HD
    Has crapped its pants .. Guna be a long weekend .
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    You can use Target Disk Mode to get data off the iMac's HDD, though if it is shot, it might be a bit harder.

    And HDDs fail, it is not a question of IF, but WHEN. Thus I have the triple backup of the data, I don't want to lose and the backup of the OS in case I have to boot from it and work with it.

    Do you lug your iMac to the DJ event?
     
  5. Redgonzo84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #5
    sadly yes :( . which sucks arse. and is a complete pain in the arse for me, other djs. sound/equipment guys etc. but i have no other choice since my macbook pro now sits with the dreaded black screen of death. and im unwilling to pay out again to fix this problem i thought they fixed the first time around . ive only had to take my imac 3 times so far though.

    ive got both my macs hooked up via firewire cable using target disk mode .
    one mac has the firewire logo and my imac sat waiting .
    but the HD doesnt show up. neither doest it show up connected using migration . though my snow leopard CD shows up thats inside my dodgy mac .

    any surgestions where to from here?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
  7. Redgonzo84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #7
    yes that very issue . apple store quoated me £500 to fix this problem
    again. i paid once. i wont pay again.

    yea the HDD shows up under disk utility when i run the imac holding C key on start up.
     
  8. Redgonzo84 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #8
    **** it. im out and fed up of ****** macs always failing.

    now nothing is working on this machine .

    disk utilities wont even locate the HDD.

    i can not even reformat/reinstall from the recovery disk as a HDD wont show up to enable me to proceed to the next stage.

    i just get a grey screen.

    the blue apple logo screen has vanished. its now just a dead grey screen.

    WTF?? seriously WTF
     
  9. bumzo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    If you still have apple care, take it to the apple store and see what the techs say. Its really your last option at this point.
     

Share This Page