The Firefox Bug.

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by JamesRandom, Feb 16, 2015.

  1. JamesRandom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    #1
    As many of you may be painfully aware, Firefox currently has a bug in that it doesn't shut down properly the first time and you have to force quit. Which can be a little irritating at times, particularly since Yosemite wont shut down until Firefox is.

    The good news is that I accidentally fixed it.

    What I did:

    While I was trying to drag my Firefox browser to a new space, i let it go while it was at the very edge of the screen (it has gone transparent, but hadn't crossed to the new space). The Firefox window disappeared (I had youtube on, sound was playing, but no window in any space).

    So I closed firefox and went back to the icon to Force Quit it and...it had already closed!

    I re-opened firefox, so my window came back, and then quit firefox again and it, again, shut down first time.


    Would like to see if any others can replicate this.
     
  2. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  3. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    I don't use Firefox terribly often, but I haven't seen this happen when I do.
     
  5. JamesRandom thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    #5
    I think it's related more to Yosemite than Firefox itself. Some users report not being able to close down their mac, but not all users seem to be affected.

    Still, for those that are, this is how I fixed mine.
     
  6. JamesMike macrumors demi-god

    JamesMike

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    I have no trouble with Firefox in Yosemite so far.
     
  7. SaxnFlutman macrumors member

    SaxnFlutman

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #7
    I experience the same problem with Firefox, yet I am on Snow Leopard, so it can't be only Yosemite, or just SL, but it sure is a bit frustrating.

    I also find when I click on preferences, the Advanced tab, since I'm constantly trashing cache as it builds up, it won't open, or sometimes it will open, but the window is either blank, or only another one than the Advanced, and won't change, another oddity.

    I wouldn't mind updating to something, but I've become so wary of any of the newer OS, and will wait until "the coast is clear". I don't have time to have to deal with major OS issues, nor do I want to take the time to have to re-learn how to use programs I've used for many years, (like iTunes), that work just fine....

    Oops, almost forgot the main reason for my response. What exactly was your fix? I couldn't tell what you actually did, that fixed the shutdown issue, can you explain it a bit more, so I can understand how to replicate what you did?
     
  8. alex0002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Do you have a link to an actual mozilla bug report?
    I'm running Firefox all the time, but I've never seen this with Mavericks.

    Firefox can have problems introduced by extensions, so it would be interesting to see if anyone gets this running Firefox with extensions disabled.
     
  9. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #9
    same here.
     

Share This Page