The First Couple Days with my New MacBook Pro =]

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MB98XJ, Aug 3, 2009.

1. MB98XJ macrumors member

MB98XJ

I'm typing this thread on my new MacBook Pro that I purchased this weekend. I'm a incoming college freshman and needed a reliable notebook because my Dell Latitude wasn't so trustworthy. So far I'm in love. I was going to work out at the gym, but didn't want to leave the house because I wanted to stay glued to the Mac.

I wanted to say a couple things to give others a good idea about switching from PC to Mac. This is my first Mac computer and so far I am having no regrets at all. I purchased the 15" 2.53 GHz MacBook Pro from my university's bookstore, along with the "free" iPod Touch, and a free printer (The printer literally came free - none of this "rebate" business). The printer is an HP F4480 which I haven't taken out of the box yet, but it looks to be a pretty decent printer (I'm sure cartridges are going to be expensive, but I'm going to use the printer sparingly). It's an all-in-one which will be great for college.

As soon as we got home, I wanted to get cracking on the whole rebate business with my iPod touch, but I'm kind of hesistant to send in my ORIGINAL receipts into Apple. I went to print out the form I need to send in so I hooked it up to the family printer (K80 I think) and my Mac wouldn't recognize it, so I had to search for drivers and none were found, which is a bummer. =[