The Future of Photoshop..?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by fab5freddy, Feb 20, 2008.

1. fab5freddy macrumors 65816

fab5freddy

Hi there, i am a photographer, that is considering getting into high-end retouching as a career option, and i was just wondering if anyone thinks that
    photoshop is going to change drastically in the next 10 years ?

Is it worth learing photoshop at an expert level now, and then have the app change in 5 years, leaving you basically skill less......?

thanks for any ideas

2. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

Rodimus Prime

If you think the skills all come from knowing the program then you are hopeless.

It is like 1% software 99% skill.
    The apps change all the time. At most all a huge change should do is slow you down for a month or 2 after that you should at least be back where you where.

It is a lot like CAD. Learned one it is not hard to learn other CAD programs.

So yes it is worth learning how to do it now at the expert level. If you think the software change would leave you skill less then you had no skill to begin with.

3. Hankster macrumors 68020

Hankster

PhotoShop will never "expire". Also, the above poster is correct...it's skil not software that makes you good.

4. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

Unfortunately, too many people are taught to use computers by being told "click on this, then this..." instead of actually thinking about what they're doing. So they laboriously learn to use a program by rote, and when it's upgraded, they're lost. It's far better just to understand the concepts behind it all.

For example, some years ago I tested out of a college computer course and got credit for it in a couple of hours. I'd never used the specific programs they had, but it wasn't that hard just to poke around (and make use of the help menu) and figure it out, since the basic concepts are pretty much the same no matter what program you're using.

--Eric

5. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack