The Godfather subtitles

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by davidoloan, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. davidoloan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #1
    I cannot get forced subtitles to appear for the Godfather in the Italian sections using Handbrake.

    It's driving me nuts. I can manage it for other movies.

    Anybody know how?

    Foreign Audio Search with Forced Only ticked and Burned In ticked won't work.

    Not one of the 3 English VOBSUB tracks Burned in will appear.

    HELP !
     
  2. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #2
    There is another thread with some info forced subs. Might want to take a look at that. I see you mention VOBSUB which would indicate you are using regular dvd not blu ray. Is that correct? Are the discs US or UK? Are you ripping with MakeMKV, directly with HB or something else?
     
  3. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3
    Download the subtitles from www.opensubtitles.org; then download "Subler" and add them to the movie after Handbrake did it's job.

    That's the easiest way. . . unless you're trying to burn it into the movie stream; I'm not sure how to do that.
     
  4. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #4
    Its been a long tine since I ripped it, but iirc with Godfather the forced subs are not actually flagged as forced. I would play the dvd with dvdplayer or something and note which subs track results in forced subs. Then pick that track in hb. The order they appear in dvdplayer is the same order they appear in the HB subs source track dropdown.
     
  5. mic j, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012

    mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    Any idea why foreign audio search would not find the track? Didn't you say in another thread that it will search for tracks that have less than 10% hits as the other tracks?

    Also, I just looked at the iso file in VLC, it has 2 subtitle tracks and 3 CC tracks. When all tracks disabled, I get non-english subs and with any of the other 2 subtitle tracks, I get full dialog, english & non-english.
     
  6. davidoloan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
  7. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #7
    care to post what you did to help others with this issue
     
  8. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #8
    I just ripped the file (dvd) to mkv. Removed the subtitle track with MKVToolnix and checked it in VLC. Still has non-english subtitles. These must be burned in. :confused:
     
  9. davidoloan, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012

    davidoloan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #9
    Sure, it was a uk DVD that I ripped using k9copy to an iso.

    Non of the 3 English subtitle tracks would burn in manually and I still don't know why.

    I was testing the "foreign audio search" with "forced only" ticked and "burned in" ticked on Handbrake. I was using an smaller iso of only 3 scenes, one of which is the Italian language scene where Michael meets his future father in law.

    The problem was that when handbrake scans the subtitles if the proportion of foreign language compared to English is not low enough it doesn't acknowledge it as foreign. So I made a new Iso with a few extra scenes and Handbrake recognised the foreign language sections as foreign and burned in the subtitles.

    I thought at first Handbrake was using a specific subtitle track, but it seems to measure the amount of foreign language.

    I am now running handbrake on the Iso of the full film. I sometimes test on a small section at very low quality first because Handbrake takes so long.

    ----------

    They are not burned in on my uk DVD.

    Which DVD do you have?

    My DVD does have 8 subtitle tracks, 3 of which are English.
     
  10. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #10
    Well...isn't this a learning experience. I have US dvd with only English subtitle tracks retained (2 full dialog and 3 closed caption). But I think the key thing is, and this is often the case, US dvd's tend to have forced subs burned in while rest-of-world sources do not.
     
  11. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #11
    interesting ive never thought to test any movies that have subtitle scenes because the characters are speaking a different language, guess ill have to go through my movies to see, ive always just used handbrake to rip movies ive never been concerned with subtitles as they are english movies but some movies have that one scene where people are speaking a foreign language
     

Share This Page