The "I just ordered/bought/got my new/refurb Mac Pro" thread [merged]

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Einz, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. fendersrule, Oct 12, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017

    fendersrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2601
    You asked for an opinion. I know the truth hurts. The 3,1 is becoming slow. It's fastest in Windows 10. I have one in my closet with a GTX 1060 that is Windows only and it's a much better and more relevant machine now. And I had a Mac Pro 3,1 since brand new and sold it for a 5,1 that royally spanks it up to Mt Fuji.

    The fact that you were on a PowerMac G5 (slow) to this point must have set a new world record. :) Had one of those, too.

    Deal with the answer. Or don't ask. And no, Windows 10 is not inferior to Windows 7. Lay off the crack pipe. Or enjoy obsolete hardware and an obsolete OS. Btw, h98 gave you a good pointer. Get an SSD and use the spinner for storage. All OSs, including El Capitan, will show an obvious increase.

    Windows 10 is superior to el capitan on a 3,1 in 2017. And privacy violations? How about never receiving security patches anymore?

    And yes, I know PPCs very well. Used to overclock them. Rev B G4s for the win. Now they are nuclear reactors that belong in a museum.
     
  2. z970mp, Oct 13, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017

    z970mp macrumors 6502a

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Location:
    Outer Space
    #2602
    Sorry, wasn't really paying attention to the fact that you posted that as a response to my initial question.

    The 3,1 is slow?? Dude. YOU lay off the crack pipe. I had to optimize OS X Leopard inside and out to get it to run as well as possible on a G5. When you live with PPCs as your primary computers and do that for over 2 years, you start to know how to oil operating systems well, as well as the hardware itself to squeeze the absolute most out of it. The 3,1 is blistering, especially with maxed RAM and dual GPUs. And when SSDs are added? It's greased lightning. Screw what later computers can do. Yes, a 5,1, 6,1 will kick it well enough, but it is absolutely no slouch on its own. And alright, that's your needs being met when you call it a "more relevant machine", but that doesn't go for everybody.

    Oh no. It'll set a new world record when @eyoungren stops using his G5 Quad, although I did haul it pretty well myself.

    OK then, just ask 60%+ of Windows's core user base and see which one they prefer. Windows 7 will be officially supported until 2020, so you can't make the obsolete argument yet, especially when the new OS introduces stuff that the masses don't care about.

    And so do I. The 7447a is best and the 970MP kicks ass when you give it something reasonable, like non-HD YouTube or 2000's games. Speaking from experience.

    But I digress. You speak flatly, so therefore, I like you.

    EDIT: To be fair, I don't actually have maxed RAM, dual GPUs, or any SSDs yet, but I'll absolutely guarantee you once they're added, the 3,1 screams, even in El Capitan. As it is, this sucker is just as fast if not faster booting into Snow Leopard as my G5 is booting into Tiger, and both examples are done with regular HDs.
     
  3. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #2603
    I just bought a new 2013 Mac Pro, six Core, D700, 1TB this weekend.

    Strange coincidence and completely unrelated: Apple obsoletes the 2010 Mac Pro only two days later.
     
  4. RocksIRC macrumors member

    RocksIRC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #2604
    Just installed a eBay online store purchased 640GB hdd for main drive and secondary 250GB hdd i purchased from iPowerResale and i have a older 80GB backup drive for backup purpose's. The eBay drive is a Apple / Western Digital 640GB SATA 3.5" 7200RPM Hard Drive WD6400AAKS Mac Pro and the iPowerResale drive is a Apple / Seagate 250GB SATA 3.5" 7200RPM Hard Drive ST3250824AS P Mac Pro. These drivers perform and function 100% no problems yet.
     
  5. pixelatedscraps macrumors regular

    pixelatedscraps

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2605
    Ehh, I’m using my 2010 cMP as my main workstation and wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Let the specs of the new modular MP come out and the first reviews of the iMac Pro and then I’ll see if it’s another trash can debacle or an upgrade path. Here’s to another 7 years maybe? ;)
     
  6. RocksIRC macrumors member

    RocksIRC

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #2606
    I know this is not mac hardware but I got a Toshiba Satellite C655 to use as 2nd computer tonight would it be good to "Hackintosh" it?
     
  7. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2607
    I bought a second Mac Pro 2009 with 32 GB RAM and 6 core 3,33 GHz processor on ebay from the German seller Macsandparts for 800 Euros.
    I installed an OWC Accelsior SATA III plus Samsung EVO 850 SSD in it and an old OWC Accelsior PCI-SSD.
    The only weak part is the ATI 5870. My first Mac Pro has an unflashed Geforce 980.
    But I prefer a card with a bootscreen and the usual MacOS drivers. Any recommendations for a significant improvement?
    I am running Yosemite on my second Mac Pro.
    My brother helped me to install an Airport card.
    I am planning to use these both Mac Pro's for another 3 years.
     
  8. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #2608
    The best buy graphics card for a boot screen is the GTX680 which can be easily flashed by the user. They are only available used now but reasonably priced on eBay.
     
  9. manhattanboy macrumors 6502a

    manhattanboy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
    #2609
    Just bought a 2013 Mac Pro with the older 4 core configuration. I have a Mac mini quad core i7 that was hit with a nasty root kit so is going into the garbage as I haven't been successful in removing it despite wiping, etc. I was debating between the iMac vs Mac mini vs Mac Pro and ultimately went with the Mac Pro as the big box stores were selling them at $1500, which seemed better than what an equivalent mini would get me. Excited to join the Pro crowd!
     
  10. saulinpa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #2610
    Congrats on your new Mac. It's an easy transition from the mini and you have lots more options.

    The old mini is probably still worth quite a bit so sell it on eBay.
     
  11. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #2611
    First time I ever heard of an MacOS rootlet virus or perhaps you installed Windows? If you really cannot clean the system why not just replace the hard disk? May as well take the opportunity to upgrade to an SSD if you are going to crack open the Mac Mini.
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2612
    Sounds impossible to me either. Just boot from a Linux LiveCD / USB. 100% sure can completely destroy any partitions and start everything from scratch.
     
  13. z970mp, Dec 2, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2017

    z970mp macrumors 6502a

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Location:
    Outer Space
    #2613
    Ubuntu 16.04 has never failed doing any partitioning for me. On the other hand, I can't count how many times El Crapitan threw me an error.

    This is probably uncalled for, but it's the truth I think we're all suffering from. The Mac truly has become garbage in recent times, for a multitude of reasons.
     
  14. manhattanboy, Dec 3, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017

    manhattanboy macrumors 6502a

    manhattanboy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
    #2614
    Just upgraded to 64GB RAM for $350!
    Is the Mac Pro the best kept secret in Mac computing right now?! Yes the new iMac Pro is attractive, but for less than half the cost you can an amazing Mac Pro right now.
     
  15. CircleTect macrumors newbie

    CircleTect

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #2615
    Wait, what? Where did you get the RAM that cheap? Buying it new at the moment is crazy expensive.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2616
    Depends on the config. If that’s used 8x8GB DDR3 ECC, $350 is not cheap at all. It was about $150 a year ago.
     
  17. raymanster macrumors 6502

    raymanster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2617
    My 3,1 is on Sierra installed on a SSD, it runs very well. Doing normal day to day tasks (surfing, checking email, youtube etc) it feels as quick as my 4,1 which also has Sierra. I've not tried it yet but High Sierra should also work.

    Check out the Dosdude1 website for more info:

    http://dosdude1.com/
    http://dosdude1.com/sierrapatch.html
    http://dosdude1.com/highsierra/
     
  18. manhattanboy macrumors 6502a

    manhattanboy

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Location:
    In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!
    #2618
    Just search on Amazon. It’s new and not used. There are actually several vendors around that price. Like I said it’s awesome for us trash can owners right now!

    The trash can Mac only has 4 slots so that’s a 4x16 configuration.
     
  19. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #2619
    Likewise - 64 GB of Crucial for $300. Brand new.

    Now for the E5-2667 V2 to show up . . .
     
  20. Orion1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #2620
    Decided to replace my 2012 Mini in my closet with a Mac Pro and got this:

    * Mac Pro 2010/5.1 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb Ram 1tb disk - $325 on eBay
    * Repurposed a 250GB SSD from the Mini
    * 16gb more Ram $50
    * X5670 6 core CPU for $60

    Computer is in the closet (not the best air circulation, if any) and at full load....it barely makes a whisper.
    ...and costs basically nothing!
     
  21. jbarley, Dec 29, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2017

    jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2621
    And it shouldn't, mine sits near my right elbow on the desk, and unless I put my ear right up to the front grill I cannot detect any sound.

    IMG_0238.jpg
     
  22. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #2622
    I prefer it placed under the table. Takes a lot of space on the table.
     
  23. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2623
    And at the same time collects less dust while being so much easier to access and service.
     
  24. StayWhatYouAre macrumors newbie

    StayWhatYouAre

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    London UK
    #2624
    Just joined the nMP club by picking up old stock from John Lewis(dept store in the UK) who were clearing out their Mac Pros !! always wanted a trash can for some reason - at 1200 pound vs the 2999 apple still want for it was hard to say no !! :)
     
  25. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2625
    Cheers!!!!
     

Share This Page