Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jcmguitar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 9, 2012
I would be very interested in your thoughts on my situation.

I have a white 2007 2.33Ghz iMac and have never gotten over the novelty of using OSX Tiger (yes!) since I switched after my Windows PC died. However I think it is now time for an upgrade.

I am a guitar tutor and currently use my iMac for recording Audio with Garage Band. I would like to start using Logic Pro and am also interested in creating some guitar tuition videos so I would like to able to run Final Cut ProX too.

My computer hardware budget is around £1500 (I'm from UK).

I am very tempted by the 2.6 i7 Mac mini with the SSD (£1,115) I would also add 16GB of Crucial RAM. (£60). I have my eye on a nice £360 27" inch monitor (DGM IPS 2701 WPH) which I understand has the same panel as the Apple Thunderbolt display. Here is review of the monitor: http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/dgm_ips-2701wph.htm

My other option is a 2.9Ghz i5 21.5 inch iMac with Fusion Drive and Apple supplied 16GB of Ram. This is about £100 more expensive than the mini option but I could just about stretch to it.

So here is the equation - For my needs does the i7 of the mini trump the faster (in Ghz terms) i5 of the iMac? If it does would the discrete graphics card of the iMac redress the balance?

I need the machine to be quiet and as both machines have only one fan I would guess they would be evenly matched here?

I also have to consider the pros and cons of the displays (and then there's the mini's screen flickering issue which is causing me some concern).

So is it iMac > Mac mini or Mac mini > iMac?

Thanks for your thoughts.

mchoffa

macrumors 6502a
Jul 12, 2008
Asheville, NC