The IMEI provided is not a valid AT&T IMEI

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by scapegoat81, Sep 3, 2015.

1. scapegoat81 macrumors 6502a

scapegoat81

Has anyone experienced problems trying to unlock their iPhone w/ At&t ?

So I've had 2 device replacements since I bought my iPhone 6 last Sept. due to warranty issues. The last being in May of this year. I recently paid off my device looking to unlock it, then sell it so I can upgrade to the 6s. 5 days after putting in the request, I got an email stating I got denied. Reason was "The IMEI provided is not a valid AT&T IMEI". Weird cuz I've been using their network for the past 4 months. So a few calls to At&t & Apple pointing fingers at each other later, I finally get a somewhat logical solution. The At&t rep suggested I go to a local store & install a new SIM to re-register the phone on the network, THEN request another unlock. Seems fishy to me b/c it doesn't change the actual IMEI #.

Has anyone had a similar experience ? This is driving me nuts cuz I gotta weird feeling they're gonna deny me again & I'll have to sell the device locked to AT&T.

2. Odat macrumors newbie

Odat

I just paid off the balance on my next AT&T plan for 2 iPhone 6 plus 64gb so I can preorder 2 6s plus iPhones. I also had both phones at some point exchanged due to issues. When I went to unlock it online after paying them off, it said they still had a balance on them. I'm sure this has something to do with the replacements having different imei numbers. Anyway, I called and she had to manually submit an unlock request ticket for both phones. She put in the notes that it was a replacement and that the balance was paid off. Took about 2 days but got both unlocked. I confirmed it with a T-Mobile sim. I plan on selling them on Craigslist. Although not exactly what happened to you but close :). Good luck!.

3. scapegoat81 thread starter macrumors 6502a

scapegoat81